Meatless Tuesday

That doesn’t have quite the same ring as Meatless Monday, but it does describe my eats. (Meatless for me, of course, meaning eggs are included; but not chicken, etc.)

I incorporated my homemade cinnamon applesauce into my breakfast this morning. I used it to make some apple-cinnamon oat bran to go with my usual scrambled eggs.

1/2 cup of oat bran, 1 & 1/4 cups of water, 1/4 cup of applesauce cooked in; topped with another scoop of applesauce, raisins, and walnuts

1/2 cup of oat bran, 1 & 1/4 cups of water, 1/4 cup of applesauce cooked in; topped with another scoop of applesauce, raisins, and walnuts

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

My apple-cinnamon oat bran was good, but it didn’t hold a candle to my Banana Bread Oat Bran! I was actually a little bummed that I didn’t just stick with the usual. I’m trying to be a little more adventurous though, since I tend to be a creature of habit when it comes to my food.

I spent the morning at home again. I’m trying to work on baby’s nap schedule. She tends to take very short naps, but this morning she surprised me by sleeping for an hour and 10 minutes! Unfortunately I was anticipating her waking up after about 30 minutes to I was rushing around doing things instead of catching some much needed extra sleep myself.

I was craving some almond butter with my lunch today, so I made a delicious almond butter/jelly/banana wrap. I had some blueberries on the side, too.

blog 003

blog 004

After lunch, baby surprised me yet again with a 1 hour and 40 minute nap! i wish I could predict these long naps. I could have done something more productive.

Mid-afternoon, I needed some more energy so I made myself a berry protein shake.

3/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk, 2 tbs soy protein powder, 1 packet of stevia, splash of OJ, 1/4 cup of frozen berries

3/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk, 2 tbs soy protein powder, 1 packet of stevia, splash of OJ, 1/4 cup of frozen berries

I wish I had waited about 30 more minutes to make my shake because this guy showed up at my doorstep…

That's some sexy protein powder!

That's some sexy protein powder!

Rest assured that I will be dipping into this tomorrow!

After baby woke up from her nap, I took her out for a 20-minute walk to enjoy some of the gorgeous weather. I also needed to warm up my legs. They are so sore from my attempted run on Sunday morning. I think they are actually more sore today than they were yesterday. I’m sure last night’s Biggest Loser Power Sculpt session didn’t help.

For dinner, I tried yet another new product – Gardein Meat-Free BBQ Skewers. I had planned to cook these on the grill, but the hubby got home later than expected so I took the easy way out and cooked them in the micro.

blog 007

According to their website:

gardein™ is a savory blend of nutritious vegetable and grain ingredients, including soy, wheat, peas, beets and carrots, slow-cooked to have the authentic taste, texture and nutrition of premium, lean meat.

I ate my meatless skewers alongside a blend of zucchini, yellow squash, onions, and mushrooms sauteed in vegetable broth.

Not exactly the prettiest presentation thanks to the mushroom juices...

Not exactly the prettiest presentation thanks to the mushroom juices...

I thought the skewers were pretty good, though all I could really taste was the BBQ sauce. And I’m not a red-meat eater, so these actually kind of creeped me out a bit because they looked so much like beef! They looked like the really low quality beef you’d find in Dinty Moore beef stew. Ever eat that stuff?? We ate it all the time when I was little. Horrifying.

Anyway, I’d probably try the other Gardein products. I love the protein content. I think next time I’ll try the BBQ Pulled Shreds.

I will spare you the gory details, but it was a massive struggle to get baby to bed tonight. Not sure why…but it was so long and drawn out, I actually found myself on the verge of tears by the time the ordeal was over.

By the time I got my workout gear on and hopped on my Spinning bike, it was 8:15. That’s a good hour and a half later than usual. I rode for just over 30 minutes. I wanted to ride more, but the exhaustion was setting in and I just couldn’t continue.

*******************************************************************

Since I brought up the Dinty Moore beef stew, that got me thinking about all the things I used to love to eat that I no longer eat because I know they’re not good for me. Things like Hostess cupcakes (I still crave these sometimes!), Tony’s frozen pizza, Ramen noodles (these now completely disgust me thanks to my college days!).

What foods did you love as a kid that you wouldn’t eat now?

4 responses to “Meatless Tuesday

  1. I just bought some Jay Robb rice protein, I can’t wait to use it too! I used to love pop and girl scout cookies for breakfast! My mom approved and sometimes ate it with me:)

  2. I laughed at your description of the meat. Luckily for me, my mother was not into organic food but she would not serve us anything from a can! I think if I could eat stuff like twinkies again and not feel guilty I would really enjoy that!

  3. i’ve seen those “beef” skewers around the blogs, and they are so intriguing. Yum!

    have a good day!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. Oh man, I would go to my friends’ house to eat their white bread, miracle whip, lucky charms, pop tarts, gushers and swiss cake rolls. My mom would never buy any of that stuff for me. Now I know why!

Leave a Reply

