What’s Your Real Age?

I just took the “Real Age” test and was pleasantly surprised to find out that my healthy habits make my real age 24 – which is great because I’m actually 26! I like the idea that I’m essentially adding 2 years to my life with my current habits. Of course, I’m not perfect (no one is) so the assessment offered me some tips on what I can do to make my “real age” even lower.

It’s a pretty neat assessment. Check it out and find out what your “real age” is!

*******************************************************************

My days are getting pretty routine…. I was up around 6:30 today and came down for breakfast at 7. I was insanely hungry this morning! I got up with baby at 4:30 and I was so hungry I thought I was going to be sick! I was more than ready for a huge bowl of oats and some eggs.

3/4 cup of oats, 1 & 1/4 cups of water, 1 small banana, cinnamon, vanilla, 1 tbs ground flaxseed, raisins, and walnuts

3/4 cup of oats, 1 & 1/4 cups of water, 1 small banana, cinnamon, vanilla, 1 tbs ground flaxseed, raisins, and walnuts

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

My morning was spent drinking decaf french vanilla coffee, putting baby down for a nap, and applying for jobs. Despite the big breakfast, I found myself needed an energy pick-me-up around 10. I blame the exhaustion. I whipped up a protein shake in the magic bullet.

1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder, 1/2 a small banana, ice

1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder, 1/2 a small banana, ice

My mom came over to spend the day with me and baby. We decided since it was another nice day, we’d go downtown for a walk. Before we left, I made us both some lunch.

1 egg on a whole wheat sandwich thin (eggs were the only thing left for lunch!)

1 egg on a whole wheat sandwich thin (eggs were the only thing left for lunch!)

We walked about 2 miles downtown. And of course we sipped on some Dunkin Donuts decaf iced coffees while we walked. I love that my stroller has cup holders. 😀

My afternoon snack was 1/2 of an Apple Pie Larabar.

blog 013

I may or may not have also consumed a little spoonful of almond butter and a date. 😉

I was lacking in veggies in the early part of the day, but I more than made up for it at dinner time with a mound of chicken and veggie (mostly veggies) stir fry.

Love me some veggies!

Love me some veggies!

Baby went to bed much easier this evening, so I was able to get down to the basement for Biggest Loser Power Sculpt at a much more reasonable time – 6:30. I was yawning throughout the entire workout so I have no doubt I did not give it 100% effort tonight. Oh well.

*******************************************************************

A couple weeks ago, I mentioned that I was considering going vegetarian. More and more I’m finding myself grossed out while preparing dinner. Don’t get me wrong – I still enjoy eating chicken, turkey, and fish. But when I’m preparing dinner, I get a little grossed out to think of how that food came to be on my plate….

I’m not sure I could go cold turkey (no pun intended), but I have found I’m starting to have more meatless meals and I’m not really missing the meat. Maybe I’ll just gradually reduce my consumption…

Any tips on phasing out meat?

4 responses to “What’s Your Real Age?

  1. I’ve been thinking about that too because I don’t really eat meat anymore, just don’t crave it. I’d rather get my protein from eggs, greek yogurt and I went veggie in high school so I know I could do it again!
    You could do a trial run, maybe for a week or so?

  2. I’ve had the same contimplation, i want to go veggie but i’m not sure i could go cold turkey either! maybe try only having meat once a day if you consume it more then that now. maybe that will help?

    I’m gonna totally check out that quiz. seems pretty cool!!!!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. that link is so cool.. checking it out now 🙂

  4. apparently i am 24.7 years old and my real age is 20.2….wooowoo! that was a fun (but long) test – thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

