Feels Like Fall!

Wow – I think fall has arrived early this year! It was very cool today and I noticed that tons of leaves have already changed. Oddly enough though, we still have mosquitos around. The first half of the summer was so rainy and cold here that the mosquitos never went away. The seasons are all outta whack now! Crazy.

Anyway… I finally got a good uninterrupted stretch of sleep tonight. I definitely noticed a difference in my appetite from being more rested today.

For breakfast, I went with cold cereal (even though it was totally a hot cereal kind of day). I had 3/4 cup of Fiber One with 1 banana, raisins, walnuts, almonds and ~3/4 cup of unsweetened soymilk.

blog 015

For my morning protein, I had the usual – 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg.

blog 016

After baby’s first nap this morning, I took her out with me to run some errands. On my way out, I ate the other half of my Apple Pie Larabar from yesterday.

blog 017

While I was out, I stopped in at the salon where I used to get my hair cut and made an appointment. It was so crazy to be in there with my baby girl… I got my hair cut there from the time I was in 2nd grade up until I moved away 2 years ago (not by the same stylist the whole time). My stylist was so excited to see me. I hadn’t been in there since my wedding day 2 years ago, so she had no idea I even had a baby! Fun stuff.

When I got home it was lunchtime. I wasn’t feeling particularly creative, so I just had a protein shake, a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla, and the last of my homemade applesauce (~1/4 cup).

blog 018

Today I just made my shake with water, 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder, and ice. I took a sip and…YUCK! I discovered that I really don’t like the taste of the Jay Robb vanilla rice protein when it’s not blended with banana. Odd, because I loved the taste of the vanilla egg white protein powder. Truth be told, I bought the rice protein because it was cheaper than the egg white. I ended up adding some cocoa powder to my shake to counteract the yucky “vanilla” taste.

For my afternoon snack, I had a small apple and ~1 tsp of raw almond butter. Only a couple more tablespoons left, then I can open my beloved roasted almond butter. YAY! 😀

blog 019

Dinner was a Healthy Fit Mama classic – Spaghetti Squash “Spaghetti” with Ground Turkey Meat Sauce.

blog 020

This wasn’t a very good squash. 😦 It looked ripe on the outside, but when I cut it open it was still very green all along the rind. Bummer. It wasn’t a very satisfying meal.

Baby went down for the night like a dream for the second night in a row! Mama was on the Spinning bike by 6:45. I rode for 45 minutes. I forced myself not to check the time while I rode and, to my surprise, when I finally looked at the time 43 minutes had already gone by. I need to employ this strategy more often! Watching the clock makes everything seem sooo much longer and slower.

When I hopped off my bike, I was STARVING! I plugged my eats into SelfDietClub.com and discovered I had only eaten about 1,350 calories today! No wonder I was hungry. For me, having this food log is important to make sure I’m eating enough as well as to make sure I’m keeping my portions under control. Not eating enough is something I’ve struggled with since I started Spinning on a regular basis. I don’t do it intentionally; I just tend to eat pretty low-cal foods. So even though sometimes I feel like I’m eating constantly, my food just doesn’t really add up to much. I’ve been able to counteract this a bit over the last several months by adding more calorie-dense nuts and nut butter to my diet.

For my evening snack, I had another bowl of Fiber One (1/2 cup) with about 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk. I also mixed in about 1/3 of a scoop of protein powder in as well to balance out the snack. I had already uploaded my pics for the day so I didn’t bother taking a pic of my cereal bowl, although it would have been a pretty interesting picture because the addition of the protein powder made it a little frothy. The protein tasted much better mixed with soymilk and cereal.

*******************************************************************

I was reflecting today on the way my eating habits have changed over the years, as well as how much my tastes have changed. In particular, my tastes changed dramatically while I was pregnant, and a couple of those changes have stuck with me:

1) I used to hate hummus, now I LOVE it! Before I was pregnant, I couldn’t stomach the texture and didn’t really care for the taste. I can’t imagine how I went almost 26 years without hummus! 🙂

2) I used to enjoy eating tuna, and usually had it for lunch 2 times a week. Now, I don’t care for it.

Are there foods that you used to dislike that you now like (or vice versa)?

4 responses to “Feels Like Fall!

  1. ah fall is in the air and I am lovin it!

    I’m glad you have that calorie counter to keep you accountable .. so important to get all the nummy fuel in your system 🙂

  2. i LOVE fiber one! I eat it for breakie just about everyday! 🙂

    Glad that you got logged onto your tracker and saw what was missin! 🙂

    Hope your havin a great night girl! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. I never used to like guacamole and my dad called it grasshopper spit, but now I could eat it everyday all day!

  4. I used to hate mustard, mushrooms, bell peppers, tomatoes, and onions – haha! Isn’t that ironic because I love them now!

Leave a Reply

