There’s Still Hope!

Happy Friday!

I started my day at 7am with one of my favorite breakfasts (other than my oats, of course) – almond butter/banana/raisin wrap heated in the microwave for 30 seconds, along with some scrambled eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg).

I've said it before and I'll say it again - nothing beats warm banana and melty nut butter!

I've said it before and I'll say it again - nothing beats warm banana and melty nut butter!

blog 022

I plugged this meal into SelfDietClub.com and discovered that it was perfectly balanced – 30% (healthy) fat, 20% protein, 50% carbs. Oh – and it was FREAKIN’ DELICIOUS! 😀 But I didn’t need anyone or anything to tell me that.

Side note: There is only about 1 tbs left in my raw AB jar, so I’m considering eating my oats out of the jar in the morning, as I’ve seen on so many other blogs. I told the hubby about this delicious idea. He thought I was crazy. Clearly he needs to spend more time reading food blogs! 😉

My morning was pretty low-key, with a nice little surprise thrown in. I put baby down for her first nap this morning and then checked my e-mail. I had an e-mail regarding the job that I’ve had 3 interviews for. She let me know that they still haven’t made a decision and that I’d hear from her again soon. Woohoo! There’s still hope! I was beginning to give up on this one – again. It was 2-1/2 weeks ago that I had my third interview. Slooooooooow process.

Late in the morning, I whipped up a protein shake that more than made up for yesterdays big mug of yuck! Today’s mixture included 1/2 cup of French vanilla decaf coffee, 3/4 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1 scoop of Jay Robb vanilla brown rice protein powder, a splash of vanilla extract, a dash of cinnamon, and ice.

This tasted like an iced vanilla chai! An a healthy on at that!!

This tasted like an iced vanilla chai! And a healthy one at that!!

Lunch today was another wrap – another one of my favorites!

turkey, roasted red pepper hummus, lettuce, and hot sauce on a whole wheat tortilla

turkey, roasted red pepper hummus, lettuce, and hot sauce on a whole wheat tortilla

I also had a small apple to go along with my wrap.

I went out after lunch to do my grocery shopping, which I usually do on Saturdays. I’m disrupting the usual Saturday routine tomorrow to go for a long overdue haircut. I’m just getting a trim, but I can’t wait to go to the salon! I love the feeling of being pampered.

I picked up a ripe cantaloupe on sale at the store this afternoon, so I had 1/2 of it for my afternoon snack. It was ripe enough to eat with a spoon – and it practically melted in my mouth! I forgot how much I love cantaloupe.

What a great snack! This clocks in at about 95 calories and it's loaded with water with helps fill me up!

What a great snack! This clocks in at about 95 calories and it's loaded with water with helps fill me up!

The hubby came home early today, so I was able to get my Biggest Loser Power Sculpt DVD done before dinner. Now I have the whole evening to relax. YES!

Dinner was super fast to make – and uber-delicious to eat! I got haddock filets at the store today. I brushed them with a little olive oil, sprinkled with some lemon pepper, and baked them at 400 for about 10 minutes. On the side I made my Wilted Balsamic Spinach but I jazzed it up a bit with some leftover chickpeas I had in the fridge. They were a tasty addition that added a little more heft to the meal.

I have never been very good with food presentation!

I have never been very good with food presentation!

Normally when I buy haddock, I just buy one filet for the hubby and I to split. But the woman at the fish counter today recommended 1/2 lb per person. I’m glad she did. I was much more full (in a good way) than I would have been if I only ate 1/2 a filet. That’s probably due to the 50 grams of protein! Holy smokes! I had no idea haddock had so much protein. And only 2 g of fat to go along with that. It doesn’t get much leaner than that.

I put baby to bed at 6:30 and I’ve been taking it easy ever since. Right now, I’m relaxing with yet another cup of French vanilla decaf coffee. I needed a hot beverage on this cold evening!

I love, love, love flavored coffees! Hazelnut is my all-time favorite, followed by French Vanilla, and Cinnamon Hazelnut.

Are you a coffee drinker or a tea drinker? What’s your favorite coffee or tea?

6 responses to “There’s Still Hope!

  1. I can’t believe that job still hasn’t got back to you – they know how to drag it out don’t they?!
    Melty nut butter and banana is indeed the best thing ever – total agreement here!!

    I am a tea AND a coffee drinker! I drink Yorkshire tea (it’s a British brand) with milk and sugar and I french press my own coffee (usually TJs own brand or something) – totally love both!

  2. I do both, coffee and tea, just depends on the mood I guess!
    I’m having half a canteloupe tomorrow, love it!

  3. I always forget how much I like cantaloupe too. But watermelon always wins out. 🙂

    Tea drinker for sure on the weekdays. I always start with a mug of black tea and in the winter I drink green tea or herbal tea all day long at work to keep me warm. I drink coffee too but just on the weekends and sometimes on Fridays when I get up with my hubby. He LIVES on coffee so we go through it pretty fast!

  4. I like the idea of adding raisins to that nut butter/banana wrap! Glad you heard back from the job, I’ve got my fingers crossed 🙂

    Coffee all the way!

  5. Breakfast wrap looks amazing! warming it up probably makes it so AMAZING! 🙂

    I hope you hear back from the job asap!!! keepin my fingers crossed!!!

    I’m def a coffee drinking for sure!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  6. I love Biggest Loser Power Sculpt! I like drinking coffee but often switch to decaf in the afternoon so I don’t get jittery. A nice mug of tea is great to switch it up too- I love earl grey.

Leave a Reply

