So. Tired.

I don’t know what the heck happened last night, but it was like having a newborn all over again! At one point baby was getting up every 25 minutes. And twice she was up for 30 minutes or more.ย I actually found myself down in the kitchen at 3am snacking on cereal (just like when baby was just a few weeks old) because I had been up for so long.

Growth spurt? Teething? Too cold? Too hot? I have no idea. But I need to fix this!

Anway…this is going to be a short one since I’m so exhausted. It’s only 7 and I’m about ready to pass out.

Hubby got up at 6:45 with baby and allowed me to get an “extra” (I use that term VERY loosely) hour of sleep. I finally emerged from the bedroon just before 8, eyes barely open, and stumbled into the kitchen to fix breakfast – Banana Bread Oat Bran and scrambled egg/egg whites.

Clearly I was still half asleep when I took this horrendous, blurry photo.

Clearly I was still half asleep when I took this horrendous, blurry photo.

My 1/2 cup of egg whites/1 egg combo was extra yolk-y this morning because my little egg (which was from the chickens at my dad's house) had twin yolks!

My 1/2 cup of egg whites/1 egg combo was extra yolk-y this morning because my little egg (which was from the chickens at my dad's house) had twin yolks!

I spent the morning guzzling French vanilla decaf coffee, pretending it was regular and wishing it would do something to perk me up. I felt like a zombie.

I had a hair appointment scheduled for 11:30 and the salon is a half hour away (as most everything around here is), so I got myself ready so I could leave at 10:45. I whipped up a protein shake for the road.

1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder, splash of vanilla, a dash (or 5!) of cinnamon, and ice

1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder, splash of vanilla, a dash (or 5!) of cinnamon, and ice

By the time I got home from my haircut it was 1 and I was STARVING. I threw together a quick lunch – low-sodium deli turkey, mustard, lettuce and pickles on a whole wheat sandwich thin along with 2 dates stuffed with almond butter for a sweet finish.

blog 030

Later in the afternoon, I snacked on some more cantaloupe.

blog 031

Dinner tonight really hit the spot. I had bought a package of rainbow peppers, so I decided to make fajitas. Well, the hubby had fajitas; I had a fajita salad. I threw some chicken strips, red pepper, yellow pepper, green pepper, and onion into a skillet and seasoned it all with a mixture of chili powder, cumin, onion powder, salt, and pepper. I topped my salad with some salsa for the finishing touch.

blog 032

Baby was in bed pretty early – 6:15 – since she didn’t sleep much last night. Once I got her settled in her crib, I grabbed an apple. I’m still hungry too…

I’m making today my off day from exercise. I usually have 1 per week, though it’s never planned in advance. I take the week as it comes and take my off day when I need it most. I’m way too tired to ride my Spinning bike this evening.

Gotta run. Baby is crying already… I think I’m in for another long one.

7 responses to “So. Tired.

  1. o boy does that salad look delish! I love throwing all types of different things in a bowl and calling it a salad. usually you can never go wrong! ๐Ÿ™‚

    hope the baby stays asleep through the night tonight! ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. Oh no, sorry doesn’t sound like a great night, hope tonights a better one for you! Your dinner looks so great!

  3. My baby is two weeks old. I feel your pain and have total sympathy. I wish you a good nights sleep. Heck, I wish myself a good nights sleep too. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Maybe she is gassy??

  4. could be her teeth. my little girl went through the same thing. she just turned 7 months and now has 4 in. have you let her cio? it’s really hard but seems to work. her sleeping has improved so much. she still only takes 30 minute naps which is frustrating though.

  5. Awww hope you get some sleep!!

  6. I see you used your magic bullet to whip up that shake ๐Ÿ™‚ nom! Can’t wait to try mine!!

Leave a Reply

