Biggest Loser, Biggest Eater

Sunday already?! Wow – the weekends fly by.

Well, I wish I could say I had more luck in the sleep department last night…ย The only good thing was that I went to bed earlier. I still had to get up 5 times with baby. Oy. I’m trying to fast track the sleep training now, but it’s not easy. I think that the problem is not teething or anything like that; it’s just that she’s now able to put two and two together. “If I make lots of noise, mommy will come in and snuggle me until I fall back to sleep.” Yeah, definitely need to work on that one.

I was up just before 7 today and knew right away what I wanted for breakfast – an enormous bowl of oatmeal! Much as I loooove my oat bran, I do adore the fluffiness of oatmeal.

3/4 cup of oats, 1-1/4 cups of water, 1 medium banana, vanilla, cinnamon, 1 tbs raisins, and walnuts (forgot the flax - oops!)

3/4 cup of oats, 1-1/4 cups of water, 1 medium banana, vanilla, cinnamon, 1 tbs raisins, and walnuts (forgot the flax - oops!)

Of course, I had my eggs too! (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 teeny tiny egg)

Of course, I had my eggs too! (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 teeny tiny egg)

I can tell I’m not functioning well on such little sleep because this morning when I poured my eggs into the pan, I ended up pouring a bunch of it onto the stove instead… Nothing like the smell of charred egg in the morning!

A little before 9, I went up to put baby down for a nap. Something miraculous happened. I put her in her crib with her little stuffed baby doll and said, “Mommy will be right back.” I went into the bathroom and came back a couple minutes later and she was just quietly playing with her doll, so I sat in the rocker for a couple more minutes. Baby stuck her thumb in her mouth and went to sleep without a fuss. Why can’t it be that easy all the time?!

Later in the morning, hubby and I took baby out for some fresh air. We went on a nice 20-minute walk. I needed to get my butt moving!

Back at the house, I was in need of some nourishment around 11, so I whipped up another delicious vanilla/cinnamon protein shake. In the mix: 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder, splash of vanilla extract, lots of cinnamon, the last tsp of my raw almond butter (which got lost in the smoothie – should have just eaten off the spoon so I could savor it!), and TONS of ice!

blog 003

This came out so thick and icy, I actually ended up eating about half of it with a spoon! It was deeeee-lish!

Not surprisingly, though, my shake didn’t hold me over too long. Around 12:30, I had more cantaloupe and a whole wheat tortilla (no pic).

blog 004

I made a run over to my dad’s house with baby this afternoon to visit for a few and get some more farm fresh eggs. Not sure if I mentioned this before, but my dad and my step mom have chickens, so I rarely ever buy my eggs anymore. I usually get them from my dad. It’s great to know I’m getting real free-range eggs. I can attest to the fact that they’re free-range… The chickens are always hanging out in the yard or the driveway when I go over there. ๐Ÿ™‚

My mother-in-law offered to make dinner for all of us tonight (we usually do shifts in the kitchen; I cook for me and hubby, then she cooks for herself and my father-in-law). After the crappy sleep I’ve been getting lately, I was all too happy to not have to cook dinner tonight. We had roast chicken. Mmmm! Everyone else had this amazing looking stuffed zucchini with cheese also, but since I’m trying hard to stick to my dairy-free diet, I had steamed zucchini and yellow squash and some tomato slices.

I ate this chicken x 2 (at least)

I ate this chicken x 2 (at least)

I spent a good 30-45 minutes putting baby to bed tonight since I’m working on sleep training, but she was still asleep by 7. So I headed to the basement immediately for Biggest Loser Power Sculpt.

I then went straight from Biggest Loser to “Biggest Eater” by coming upstairs and inhaling at least 1 serving (perhaps more) of Fiber One cereal right out of the box. Guess I was still hungry.

*******************************************************************

Well, it really feels like fall now that it’s football season again! It seems like it just ended!

Are you a football fan?

I’m from New England so I’m a diehard Patriots fan. I like to watch the Pats games, but couldn’t really care less about any other games. Not really a college football fan either. I’m more looking forward to the new shows! In particular, Grey’s Anatomy, Biggest Loser, Heroes, and Ugly Betty.

What shows are you looking forward too?

10 responses to “Biggest Loser, Biggest Eater

  1. I’m a Trojan, but not a football fan…which is heresy to my fellow schoolmates…haha!

    Tip: Blend half oat bran and oatmeal together. Then you get the fluffiness and chewiness of the oatmeal, but also the creaminess of the oat bran. Perfect!

    Oh and I look forward to Top Chef, Ugly Betty, Lost, and Heroes, and Gossip Girl!

  2. Fiber one cereal is my FAVORITE! ah. there have been times where i’ve had bowl fulls in one night…made my tum not so happy in the morning (talk about fiber overload) but it sure was good at the time! ๐Ÿ™‚ have you tried any of the other cereals from fiber one?

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. I love Biggest Loser too, but I just started working nights so I won’t be able to watch my shows really anymore.
    Love steamed zucchini!

  4. My aunt and uncle had a farm when I was a kid and I LOVED going over there and getting all the fresh eggs! That’s so fun you have that kind of connection ๐Ÿ™‚

    I hope you get plenty of Zzz’s soon!!

  5. While I do root for the Pats (even though it should be the Eagles because I’m originally from Philly), I have a very small attention span when it comes to watching sports on TV. I’d rather watch sports live!
    As for shows, I’m looking forward to Grey’s and Lost!

  6. Being from New England as well I should be a Pats fan, but I am more of a Tom Brady fan! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I’m not a football fan at all.. it kills my boy because I always moan and groan whenever he wants to watch it on TV… when he watches style network with me, I’ll watch football with him ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. that’s awesome your family has a farm where you can get eggs – LOVE that local flavor!

    not going to lie, i don’t like football, and i am okay with that ๐Ÿ™‚

    happy monday!

  9. I kind of hate football. Sorry. My heart is kept by the ‘other’ football a.k.a. soccer. American football just kind of fries my brain with boredom!
    Oooh shows. I hardly watch any TV but when the Biggest Loser starts you WILL find me glued to the TV every Tuesday! tomorrow! Yay!

  10. mmm, that vanilla /cinnamon protein shake sounds too excellent!

Leave a Reply

