Raw or Roasted? That is the Question.

I finally got some more sleep last night! YAY! Baby only got up twice. It’s still not the 8-12 hours straight that she used to sleep, but after the last few restless night, I’ll take it.

Yesterday I mentioned that I used up the last of my raw almond butter in my protein shake. I knew as soon as I polished off that jar that I had to crack open my jar of roasted almond butter for breakfast this morning. It took me about 3 or 4 weeks to get to the end of the raw AB jar. I was axiously awaiting the day I could open my roasted AB.

So, this morning I made an almond butter/banana/raisin wrap along with some scrambled egg/egg whites.

blog 001

blog 002

I eargerly bit into my warmed up wrap and my first thought was, “Wow, I didn’t realize how much the raw almond butter had grown on me.” I was shocked. Dont’ get me wrong – this wrap was still delicious (and nutritious!). I just didn’t realize how much I had come to enjoy the raw almond butter. Now I’m torn. Raw or roasted? I don’t know which is my favorite now! Maybe I’ll alternate between buying raw and buying roasted. I’d hate to have an open jar of each because I’m so indecisive, I’d never be able to make up my mind about which one to have. And, consequently, I’d probably end up eating both every day! Haha.

Moving on to the rest of the day… I ventured out for a bit this morning to buy some invitations for my sister’s baby shower. I have GOT to get these done by the end of the week. Going out with baby in the late morning wasn’t a good choice though. She fell asleep in the car on the way home and toally threw off her napping schedule. Such is life, I suppose.

My almond-buttery breakfast kept me full until noon (that’s 5 whole hours of satiety!), at which time I made a monstrous salad with romaine lettuce, tomato, red onion, carrots, zucchini, chicken, roasted red pepper hummus, and hot sauce. A bit of advice – don’t shake a bottle of hot sauce while wearing a white sweater. I ended up with little red splatters all over me. Well worth it I guess; my salad was amazing!

blog 003

I followed up my savory salad with this sweet treat:

Yummy chocolate brownie Z Bar!

Yummy chocolate brownie Z Bar!

I spent the afternoon alternating between playing with baby, putting down for naps, and writing out baby shower invitations. And of course there were snacks – an apple and a vanilla/cinnamon protein shake, which was eaten with a spoon again.

blog 005

Dinner tonight literally took all of 10 minutes to make – and it was fantastic! I tried another Gardein product – BBQ Pulled Shreds. I put my serving of shreds on a whole wheat sandwich thin and had some green beans on the side.

blog 006

blog 007

This was such a tasty meal! I’ve always loved pulled pork, even though I rarely if ever eat pork. These BBQ shreds were right on with the taste – and even the texture! (If you don’t like meat because of the texture, you may have an issue with this.) I will definitely buy this again. All the great taste of BBQ pulled pork without the saturated fat! Oh – and it has 19 grams of protein per serving. Amazing!

After putting baby to bed, I hopped on my Spinning bike for a 45-minute ride. I really wanted to stop after 30 minutes, partly because I was tired and partly because I was bored. For inspiration, I thought about Holly and the 22 miles she ran this weekend. (I’m in awe!) I kept on truckin’ till I reached the 45-minute mark.

Well, it’s off to the shower for this gal.  I leave you with this random question:

If you had to eat the same meal all day everyday, what would it be?

That’s an easy one for me – a big bowl of oats with banana, vanilla, cinnamon, raisins, and walnuts. Never gets old for me!

4 responses to “Raw or Roasted? That is the Question.

  1. Thanks for the review of the pulled “pork.” I used to LOVE those kind of sandwiches so it sounds like a good product. However, the texture of meat freaks me out so I don’t know if I could have it 😉

    Glad you got some more zzz’s finally! My meal: oats with PB2 and carob!!

  2. Peanut Butter Puffins, banana, flax and almond butter!
    Love that “pork” sandwich, I need to try more thing like that, my dinners are so bland, but I do eat at work too!

  3. I’ve never tried roasted almond butter before! And that pulled pork looks delicious. I am definitely going to try some.

    As for my same meal everyday – I would go with a turkey sandwich and potato chips. Boooring.. I know! But I love sandwiches and chips 🙂

  4. you are too dang sweet miss emily – thanks for the shoutout. i look to others all the time for workout inspiration – it helps keep me going!

    loving the wrap! and i could not agree with you more! the raw AB has grown on me so much, i don’t even think i really care for the roasted kind anymore. funny how our tastebuds can change!

Leave a Reply

