When One Door Closes…

Thank you all for the encouraging comments! They really perked me up.

It really is true what they say – when one door closes, another one opens. I applied for a job last night and was contacted today to set up a phone interview. So I’ve got another interview on Friday. I’m already feeling a little better about this whole situation.

*******************************************************************

My little one slept until almost 7 today, so it felt like sleeping in to me! She has been sleep sooooo much better the last few nights, only getting up once a night. I highly recommend the No Cry Sleep Solution to any mommies out there struggling with sleep problems.

Breakfast today was a classic – Banana Bread Oat Bran and scrambled eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg). I was stuffed this morning! Isn’t it funny how the same breakfast can totally fill you up one day, and leave you still hungry another day?!

blog 014

blog 015

After baby’s morning nap, I ran out to do a couple errands. When I came home, this was waiting for me at the door:

blog 016

A couple weeks back, I was one of 3 lucky winners of a giveaway hosted by the fabulous Jenny. I won a sample pack of Kay’s Naturals Better Balance products. All of the pretzels, chips, and cereals are gluten free and packed with protein. Of course, I had to try some of the products ASAP!

First up, the Cinnamon Toast Pretzel Sticks.

blog 018

I could hardly tear this bag open fast enough. I was so excited to try these. Let me tell you – I was not disappointed! They were soooo yummy! They really did taste like cinnamon toast. They do have a bit of salt too though, so if you’re ever craving a sweet/salty combo, definitely go for these!! Mmmm!

I decided to try the Lemon Herb Protein Chips, too.

blog 019

I didn’t particularly care for these. They weren’t awful, but they’re certainly not something I would buy. There was a lot of herb taste, but no lemon. I gave the rest of the bag to my hubby for his lunch.

My lunch today was totally plain and boring – low-sodium deli chicken and mustard on a whole wheat tortilla.

blog 017

Baby got a bit fussy this afternoon, so I took her outside with me for some fresh air. We picked apples and pears from the trees in the yard, and picked some tomatoes from the garden.

After our little harvest, snacks were in order. I made a protein shake with 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder, vanilla extract, cinnamon, and ice.

blog 020

I also ate 2 dates that I dunked into my almond butter jar. 😀

For dinner, I made HUMONGOUS stuffed peppers. These really hit the spot tonight!

blog 022

I put baby to bed around 6:45 and got myself ready to exercise. I rode for 45 minutes on my Spinning bike. I really wish I had another piece of cardio equipment. My bike is getting so boring. I felt like I had been on it forever and I looked at my watch and only 25 minutes had gone by! Ugh.

After my ride, I dipped back into my Kay’s Naturals stash for a snack. I had the French Vanilla Protein Cereal.

blog 023

blog 024

Oh. My. Gosh. This cereal is amazing!! It has such a great vanilla flavor to it, but it’s not too sweet – only 3g of sugar. And it’s sweetened with honey. What’s even more amazing is that it only has 100 calories per serving (although I could have used more than the 1 oz bag) and 9g of protein. I loved that it made the soymilk taste like vanilla too! 🙂 I would definitely buy this.

*******************************************************************

In other news….

Leianna is hosting her very first giveaway! She’s got some great loot!!

I’ve mentioned this before, but I have absolutely no self control when it comes to raisins! I grabbed a few almost every time I walk past the pantry. I’m probably eating about 3 times as many as I think I’m eating during the day. It’s a good thing I don’t keep chocolate-covered raisins in the house. That would be dangerous!!

Is there one food that you can’t control yourself around?

4 responses to “When One Door Closes…

  1. All those samples that you tried out sound amazing, and 9 grams of protein in that cereal is outstanding, that would be a perfect pre-fuel for a run maybe!

    chocolate anything is dangerous for me in my house! yikes! haha

    Congrats on the interview on friday girl! 🙂 so proud of you, your gonna ROCK 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. Congrats on the interview, hoep you get this one!

    My food that no control is gummies! OMG I could eat a whole bag sometimes!

  3. no control over a tub of ice cream. none at all.

    yay for your new interview, new giveaway snacks and those stuffed peppers look AH-MAY-ZING!

  4. yay so glad you got your package and are enjoying the Kays swaaaag!

Leave a Reply

