Don’t Try This (Lunch) at Home

It was quite grey and dreary outside when I got up this morning around 6:30, which matched my mood. Or perhaps I was in a mood because it was grey and dreary…? Not sure. That’s like trying to figure out which came first, the chicken or the egg.

Breakfast was slightly out of the ordinary for me, but it was yummy! I had Kay’s Naturals Honey Almond Protein Cerealwith unsweetened soymilk, a banana with 1 tbs of almond butter, and scrambled eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 JUMBO egg).

blog 001

blog 002

The honey almond cereal was pretty good, but I didn’t like it as much as the french vanilla. The flavor wasn’t quite as strong. I would definitely eat this again though.

I was feeling snacky around 10, so I had an Apple Cinnamon Clif Z Bar.

blog 003

I warmed this bar up in the microwave for about 15 seconds, an idea I got from other bloggers. That took this already scrumptious bar to a whole new level of deliciousness! I can’t wait to try that with the Chocolate Brownie and Honey Graham flavors!

I was inspired by Caitlin’s morning post today to have more breakfast for lunch. I had planned to make a protein shake and some oatmeal, but then I thought why not combine the 2 and make protein oats?! This is another thing I’ve read about many times on other blogs. Obviously I need step-by-step instructions though because mine was a major FAIL! I used 1/2 cup of oatmeal, 1 scoop of brown rice protein powder, 1 cup of water, 1/2 cup of soymilk, cinnamon, 1/2 a banana, and a few walnuts. I didn’t even bother to take a picture of my sludge. Use your imagination though – think wet cement. Never one to waste food, I ate about 3/4 of it before I decided I couldn’t eat anymore. And, not surprisingly, this sat in my tummy like a brick. Yuck. Don’t try this mixture at home… I certainly won’t be making it again.

I made it through the rest of the afternoon without eating anything – other than a couple raisins and a date.

I made a quick run to the grocery store to pick up a few essentials late this afternoon (i.e. BANANAS!). I also decided to get some sort of different veggie to make with dinner.

Dinner was baked chicken, roasted brussels sprouts, and salad. I love brussels sprouts, but I just never think to buy them. Roasting them makes them taste so much better too! I’ve how crispy they get.

blog 004

After baby was snuggled into bed, I went downstairs for Biggest Loser Power Sculpt. I’ve already been doing this video for about a month. Almost time to move on. I’m thinking of buying the Physique 57 DVD. This is the workout that Kelly Ripa does…and that chick is ripped! She’s had 3 kids and has way better abs than I do after having 1. I’ll have to shop around. Maybe I can find it cheaper on eBay.

I’m a sucker for used books and DVDs online. I prefer to go to the bookstore, but I just don’t get out enough these days. So I buy most everything online.

Are you an online shopper?

6 responses to “Don’t Try This (Lunch) at Home

  1. I have never seen the apple cinnamon z bars, I love the other flavors. And I am definitely an online shopper. It is just easy to get stuff done during my lunch hour at work online instead of waiting until the weekend, dragging the kids out and hoping they have what I want!

  2. I love shopping little too much sometimes!
    Too bad about your lunch, I’m scared to try new things sometimes. But dinner definetely made up for it, love me some brussel sprouts:)

  3. ive tried the physique 57 and loved it! when i get paid, i actually think i am going to purchase the DVD too!

  4. Sorry about the protein oats! I have yet to try those although I’d like to some day. I occasionally do online shopping but only if it’s not available nearby (i.e. PB2 or Barney Butter). Clothes though I prefer to try on so online shopping doesn’t work out for me!

  5. I just made brussels sprouts for the 1st time the other day! I steamed them though and everyone mentioned how great they’d taste roasted…I think I’ll have to try it now!

  6. I haven’t had brussels in ages! Thanks for the reminder. 🙂 Might have to pick some up… yours look yummy.

Leave a Reply

