My Weekend, in a Nutshell

Sorry I’ve been MIA this weekend. I intentionally took Friday night off, but then we had a small family crisis come up on Saturday so I didn’t feel like blogging.

Here’s my weekend, in a nutshell.

FRIDAY

Food:

Breakfast – almond butter/banana/raisin rollup with scrambled eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg)

blog 005

blog 006

Snack – Peanut Butter Clif Z Bar. This bar was amazing! I especially loved the chocolate drizzle on top. πŸ™‚

blog 007

Lunch – chicken, roasted red pepper hummus, and hot sauce on a whole wheat tortilla

blog 008

Afternoon Snack – protein shakes for me and the hubby

For 2 shakes: 1-1/2 cups of unsweetened soymilk, vanilla, 1 banana, ice

For 2 shakes: 1-1/2 cups of unsweetened soymilk, 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder, vanilla, 1 banana, ice

Dinner – turkey burgers with roasted butternut squash

Look at that steam coming off my squash!

Look at that steam coming off my squash!

Post-workout Evening Snack Kay’s Naturals Apple Cinnamon Protein Cereal with soymilk. This cereal was delicious! It reminded me so much of Apple Jacks.

blog 011

blog 012

Fitness

45-minute ride on my Spinning bike

Fun

My preliminary phone interview went great! I’m going to have a face-to-face interview for this job sometime later this week or next week. It sounds like a great job with great pay!!

*******************************************************************

SATURDAY

Food

Breakfast – HUGE bowl of oats:

  • 1/4 cup of oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup of oat bran
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup of soymilk
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tbs ground flaxseed
  • walnuts
  • raisins
Awful early-morning pic!

Awful early-morning pic!

And scrambled eggs:

  • 1/2 cup of egg whites
  • 1 whole (very small) egg

blog 014

Lunch – Protein shakes for 2, and a whole wheat tortilla

blog 015

blog 016

Dinner – Wild Alaskan salmon with maple/soy/ginger glaze and steamed zucchini, yellow squash, and onion. OH MY YUMMINESS! πŸ˜€

blog 017

Fitness

I skipped out on my exercise in favor of a couple glasses of wine instead. It was that kind of day – family crisis.

Fun

I got out of the house by myself for a few hours. I stopped at my mom’s for a cup of coffee, went to Target, and then to the grocery store. It was some much needed alone time, although I came home $200 poorer.

*******************************************************************

SUNDAY

Food

Breakfast – Toasted whole wheat sandwich thin with almond butter and banana, and scrambled eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg)

blog 018

Lunch – Protein shake and a whole wheat tortilla

blog 020

Afternoon/Evening Graze-a-thon – We went to my dad’s to watch the Patriots game today. No pics (bad blogger :-() but here are some of my eats:

  • veggies and hummus
  • tortilla chips and bean dip
  • chicken, Mexican rice, and black beans
  • an apple

No need to make dinner tonight. Fabulous!

Fitness

I pulled double duty today. I did Biggest Loser Power Sculpt in the morning and rode my Spinning bike for 30 minutes in the evening. I guess I was feeling guilty about skipping out yesterday.

Fun

I suppose I already covered the fun for the day above. πŸ™‚

*******************************************************************

I’m so happy tomorrow is Monday! Weird, I know. Most people dread Mondays. Being unemployed, however, I welcome Mondays because it’s the start of a new week to search and apply for jobs. I feel helpless on the weekends because I can’t make any progress!

Do you dread Mondays? Or do you welcome the start of a new week?

6 responses to “My Weekend, in a Nutshell

  1. i don’t dread mondays, but i do thoroughly enjoy my sundays πŸ™‚

    hope everything is okay with the fam!

    i am loving that roasted butternut squash…YUMMMM! and those protein shakes are looking so good too!

    good luck with the interview and happy (almost) monday!

  2. Wow! What a great recap!
    I admit that most of the time I dread Mondays. But that’s only because I don’t exactly love my job right now. If I loved what I did I would look forward to every Monday!

  3. I hope everything is alright!! PB Zbar – love it πŸ™‚

    I don’t dread any day, really. It’s just another day in my world. I guess it helps that I don’t have class/work on Monday AND How I Met Your Mother is on! Congrats on getting another interview!

  4. Your Friday breakfast was my breakfast today!
    And it was a first for me!

    I’ll be totally honest I dreaded Monday this week. I am kinda living for the weekends at the moment…but that’s ok. Haha.

    Crossing fingers and toes for you on this interview!!!

  5. Mondays aren’t my favorite, but I do love them for their incredible trash TV lineup πŸ™‚

    hope all is well in the family! good luck with the interview love ❀

  6. Pingback: Just That Kind of Day « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

