Journey to Healthy Fit Mama-hood

When I started this blog, I wasn’t sure where it would go, if anyone would read it, or how long I would keep it up. I must say that, while my readership is nowhere near what some other food blogs have, I am truly amazed that anyone reads this thing, let alone reads it on a regular basis! Thank you! 🙂 And welcome, if it’s your first time reading.

I thought it was about time I shared a little more detail about my journey to becoming a Healthy Fit Mama. (There is a very brief overview on my About Emily page.)

All throughout high school, I ate a steady diet of Pepsi, Toaster Strudels, pizza, and French fries, yet I always weighed about 100 lbs (I’m only 5 feet tall). This was due in part to my teenage metabolism, but also partly due to the fact that, in general, I just didn’t eat that much overall.

I entered college at 102 lbs, which I maintained (give or take a couple pounds) throughout my freshman year. A funny thing happened sophomore year though…. I discovered beer! And along with beer, came late night snacking. By the end of sophomore year, I was at 119 – and I just kept gaining from there. Just the summer between sophomore and junior year alone, I gained at least another 10 lbs. By the time I graduated, I weighed an estimated 140 (I was in denial and never stepped on a scale).

When I moved home after graduation, I think I naturally shed about 5-8 lbs of pure beer bloat. I was definitely unhappy with the way I looked, though. I finally joined a gym that fall. One of the first few times I went, I stepped on the scale figuring I’d see about 120, maybe 125. It read 135. I was horrified. I weighed the same, if not more than my boyfriend (who is now my husband).

I tackled exercise first. I began exercising at least 3 days a week. I didn’t change my eating habits though – at lot of processed foods, lots of dinners out, lots of sweets. Not surprisingly, I wasn’t seeing any change in my weight.

I hit a major turning point on my 23rd birthday. After inhaling a HUGE, greasy Mexican meal, I felt disgusted. That night, on the drive home, I announced that I was making a change to my lifestyle. I was going to eat healthier and exercise more vigorously.

Just a few short days later, future hubby and I moved out of his parents house into our first apartment. Finally I was in control of what foods entered my kitchen. For me, it was simple – if I don’t buy junk, I won’t eat junk.

In addition to eating healthier foods, I started putting more effort into my exercise, working out harder (but not too hard) than I ever had before. Within 2 weeks, I had lost 6 lbs. Another 2 and a half months later and I had shed 25 lbs. I reached 110 lbs, a weight I maintained for 3+ years.

Today, I weigh in at about 101, though I was perfectly happy at 110. I didn’t set out to lose additional weight; it just happened. And it’s funny because I’ve actually scaled back my exercise since I don’t have as much time now. Instead of teaching 5+ Spinning classes a week, I now work out at home, alternating between circuit training DVDs and riding my Spinning bike. I squeeze in my exercise in the evening, after I put baby to bed. I end up eating dinner around 5 or 5:30 so I can digest before I workout, but it’s a worthwhile trade-off. Not only does my exercise help me stay fit, but it helps me clear my head and enjoy some “me” time, which in turn helps me be a better mama!

To read more about how I stay fit without going to the gym, click here.

To read more about the nutrition tips that worked for me, click here.

*******************************************************************

Allow me to shift gears….

I woke up feeling very well rested today. My sleep was only interrupted 1 time by baby. 😀 I came down to make breakfast a little earlier than usual – 6:45. It was one of those days when my eyes were bigger than my stomach. I ate a HUGE bowl of oats (what else is new?!) and eggs. I ate it all, but man, was I stuffed!

3/4 cup of oatmeal, 1-1/4 cups of water, vanilla, cinnamon, 1 banana, 1 tbs ground flaxseed, 1 tbs raisins, 1 tbs honey almond butter

3/4 cup of oatmeal, 1-1/4 cups of water, vanilla, cinnamon, 1 banana, 1 tbs ground flaxseed, 1 tbs raisins, 1 tbs honey almond butter

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

I used my Blue Diamond honey almond butter this morning (which tastes like marshallow to me). Several times, I got big clumps of salt in my AB. Blech! Not what I wanted this morning. Too salty.

I went out to do some errands this morning while hubby stayed home with baby. It’s always nice to get out for a bit by myself.

For lunch, I recreated yesterday’s peach protein shake. I also had a warm whole wheat tortilla (not pictured).

Mmm, mmm, good!

Mmm, mmm, good!

I got a little hungry later in the afternoon and had a few chicken slices with mustard.

blog 031

For dinner, I made some ground turkey taco meat and fajita veggies which I piled on top of some romaine lettuce. I topped it all off with some mashed avocado. I had attempted to feed baby the avocado, but she was not impressed!

That's an entire head of romaine!

That's an entire head of romaine!

We are working on sleep training baby, so I put her down drowsy in the crib at 6:50. She cried a little…then she cried A LOT. I couldn’t stand to listen to my poor baby cry! From the day she was born, she just was not a crier. She literally barely made a sound in the delivery room. I finally went into her room after about 30 minutes (only about 5 of those minutes werehard  crying – the rest was mostly fussing). I kissed her on the cheek and then just stood by the crib and rubbed her belly. She settled right down and went to sleep. I think I would much rather stand by her crib for a few minutes every night than leave my baby girl in there crying alone in the dark! It broke my heart!

Baby was finally asleep at 7:30, so I got a late start on my exercise. I rode my Spinning bike for about 40 minutes, all the while thinking through the details of tonight’s post. 🙂

I was a bit shaky after my ride. Snack time! I just had small bowl of Fiber One with soymilk.

Gotta run now. It’s past my bedtime! 😀

10 responses to “Journey to Healthy Fit Mama-hood

  1. Girl you know i love your story already! 🙂 I see so much of myself in you! You are such an inspiration!

    hopefully the “trianing” is going well! night

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. What a great post, thanks for sharing. I love reading your blog, great eats and hearing about how you do it with a little baby is even more inspirational!

  3. I really enjoy your blog! I’m also 5′ tall and right now I am weighing the most I have ever weighed…134 lbs. Your posts are inspiring me to make a few more changes to my diet and exercise routine. I began gaining weight when I was laid off, had more time on my hands, and I was not making up for the difference in activity level (my job kept me on my feet most of the day). Thank you!

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      @Lori: Thanks for the comment! I’m glad you’re finding some inspiration from my blog. I too was laid off in June and some days I find myself sitting for long periods of time. I try to take advantage of every nice day and get out for a walk. Good luck to you, and feel free to e-mail me anytime if you have any questions! 🙂

  4. What a great story! Thank you for sharing that – that’s awesome 🙂

    Good luck with the sleep training! Hearing them cry would be so difficult!

  5. it was really fun to read about you and your story! i am still trying to lose a few LBs that i managed to pack on (freaking BEER!) so i am going to check out your tips page!

  6. I love this post — thank you so much for sharing your story openly and honestly! We all have our own mini weight struggles and It’s great that you’ve found a place that you are content and happy with 🙂

  7. Great story and great post! Interesting that you think the Blue Diamond honey almond butter tastes like marshmallow… I love marshmallow so I may have to try it out 🙂

  8. i’m so glad i ran across this post.it reminded me a little of myself. it’s awesome that you have come so far and live such a healthy lifestyle. i was the same way with my son. i could not do the cry yourself to sleep gig.

  9. fascinated.

Leave a Reply

