Just That Kind of Day

Do you ever have days when no amount of food can satisfy your hunger? Well, today was just that kind of day for me! I feel like I’ve been having more and more of those lately. Perhaps my body is telling me something… I just went with it.

I started my day today with a bowl of cold cereal and some eggs. 

3/4 cup of Fiber One, 1 banana, raisins, walnuts, almonds, and 1/2 cup of soymilk

3/4 cup of Fiber One, 1 banana, raisins, walnuts, almonds, and 1/2 cup of soymilk

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

Much as I love this cereal/fruit/nut mixture, it just really doesn’t fill me up as much as my oats or my almond butter/banana wrap. I say that every time too! 😉

It was a pretty uneventful morning here. I went out for a few to register my car, and that was about it. Oh – and I watched last night’s episode of Biggest Loser while baby was napping.

Since my cereal didn’t keep me full for very long, I made a protein shake around 10. Today’s mixture included:

  • 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk
  • 1 scoop of Jay Robb vanilla brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 cup of frozen mixed berries

blog 035

It was good, but not as good as my peach protein shake!

Given that my tummy was a bottomless pit today, I was in need of some lunch just an hour and a half later. I had a chicken wrap with mustard and spinach.

blog 036

My afternoon was full of little bits and bites including (but not limited to!) an apple, a banana, more cereal (straight out of the box)

For dinner, I used up the leftover salmon from Saturday night. I wilted some spinach with olive oil and garlic on the side.

blog 038

I got baby to bed at a pretty decent time  – 6:45. There was very little crying. I stood by her crib and rubbed her belly ’til she was very drowsy, then I left the room and she went right to sleep!

Per usual, I promptly headed to the basement to work out. It was Biggest Loser Power Sculpt night. I get my need to get my new video ASAP. This is getting bo-ring! But I do notice a huge improvement in my strength since I started it.

Now I’m sitting here trying to figure out what, if anything, I’m going to eat next! Yep, that kind of day! 🙂

*******************************************************************

Thank you all for the kind comments on last night’s post. I’m want to try and incorporate some more interesting posts. Sometimes I feel like they’re pertty monotonous. I’ll have to come up with some topics…

*******************************************************************

I’ve read a lot of discussion on other blogs about strength training vs. cardio. I do a combination of cardio and strength training. I enjoy Spinning, but when it comes down to it, I much prefer strength training over cardio. I also feel that, while cardio is good for my heart, the strength training has played a much bigger part in helping me get fit and stay fit. It has helped me build muscle, and muscle helps your metabolism work more efficiently.

Which do you prefer – strength training or cardio? Which has been most beneficial to you?

3 responses to “Just That Kind of Day

  1. I’m more of a cardio person, but know I need more strength to keep my running schedule strong!

  2. i have those bottomless pit days! i prefer weight training but i know cardio is important, i alternate every other day, 3 days of each a week with a day off!

  3. i’ve been a cardio girl for as long as i can remember! 🙂

    I have bottomless pit days more often then not too girl! dont worry though, it happens!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

