Where’s Mama? Here I am!

I seem to have unintentionally fallen into a pattern of not blogging on Friday night. But have no fear – I’m back now! 😉

FRIDAY

My Friday started with something I haven’t had in quite a while – Old Wessex 5-Grain Hot Cereal. In my bowl, I combined:

  • 1/2 cup of cereal
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened soymilk
  • vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • 1 banana
  • raisins
  • walnuts

blog

This was delicious, but…I burned the sh*t out of my tongue! I guess that’s I get for being so impatient.

To go with my bowl of grains, I had the usual 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg.

blog 045

It was another day of hanging around the house with baby. I did get a call in the morning though about another job opportunity, though. I love that I’m getting called for so many interviews…now I just need someone to hire me!

For lunch, I went with what I was craving – almond butter, jelly, and banana on a whole wheat sandwich thin.

blog 046

blog 047

I also had a protein shake made with:

  • 1 cup of soymilk
  • 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder
  • 3 large strawberries
  • ice

blog 048

After lunch, baby and I went over to hang out with my dad for a bit since he had the day off. We sat out on the deck and enjoyed the sunshine. 🙂

I did something a little different for dinner tonight. I made zucchini “pasta” with ground turkey meat sauce. I just used a veggie peeler and shaved down one large zucchini and then steamed all the shavings. It was good;  a little too light though. I was hungry about an hour later.

blog 049

It was pretty challenging putting baby to bed. Actually it was a challenging day overall. So I decided to make it my night off from exercising. Instead, I had a glass of wine and a warm La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla for a snack. Then I settled in with the hubby to watch the season premiere of Grey’s Anatomy that I had taped the night before. What a tear-jerker!

SATURDAY

Baby slept in until just after 7 today, which I needed because it was a long night! She was up from 2-3.

Breakfast was a big bowl of oat bran and some eggs. I pulled out the walnuts for a topping, but ended up putting them back in favor of the almond butter. As I’ve mentioned, putting AB on my oats really isn’t my favorite way to enjoy it, but I really wanted AB and I really wanted oats!

  • 1/2 cup of oat bran
  • 1-1/4 cups of water
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tbs ground flaxseed
  • raisins
  • 1 tbs almond butter

blog 050

blog 051

We decided to take a family trip to the grocery store today. We walked out with all the essentials and then some – and with $150 less!

Breakfast held me over from 7:30am – 1:00pm. That’s a long time for me! For lunch, I made a peach protein shake.

  • 1 cup of soymilk
  • 1 scoop of vanilla brown rice protein powder
  • vanilla extract
  • cinnamon
  • 1 peach
  • ice

blog 052

I also had 1/2 of a Chocolate Coconut Chew Larabar.

blog 053

After lunch, hubby and I took baby out for a walk. It certainly felt like fall today!

For an afternoon snack, I had a few handfuls of Kashi GoLean Crunch. This was the first time I’ve ever had this cereal. Soooo addicting! I’m thinking I’m going to need to have this for breakfast tomorrow. I also had some homemade applesauce.

blog 054

Since my husband was home, I was able to get my exercise in late this afternoon. I did Biggest Loser Power Sculpt.

After that I did some major multi-tasking. I simultaneously made baby food and dinner! I pureed pears for baby and ,ade this lovely meal for myself and the hubby:

Lemon pepper haddock, green beans, and salad

Lemon pepper haddock, green beans, and salad

‘Twas delish!

It’s a cold night tonight, so I’m about to put on a pot of decaf and relax before bed. Hope you’re enjoying your weekend.

6 responses to “Where’s Mama? Here I am!

  1. have a relaxing night, girlie 🙂

    p.s. what brand of PB is it that you use? I’ve never seen that before!

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      @Jenny: That AB is actually a store brand! I got it at a grocery store called Hannaford. Nature’s Place is there all-natural store brand. It’s only $7.50 – not bad for almond butter!

  2. I’m thinking about doing zucchini with marinara, but might need to add something if its not that hardy!

  3. i love the idea of veggies as pasta!!! have you tried spagetti squash? i bet you would love it if you haven’t already had it! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. you know I am totally going to say that I am in love with the english muffin with banana, jelly & PB 🙂

  5. Go Lean Crunch is quite addicting, I try not to buy it too often!

    My mom used to make homemade applesauce with 2 apples, a banana, tons of cinnamon and a bit of water all blended up. The banana makes it taste amazing!

Leave a Reply

