“The rain makes me feel oogy.”

Anyone ever seen the movie Misery? That’s where my post title comes from. This quote is the best way to describe my day. It was rainy and grey, which made me feel kind of blah. Add a cranky baby to the mix and…well, you get the idea.

Baby got up super-duper early today…just after 5! Usually I can get her to go back to sleep for at least an hour, but no such like today.

For breakfast today, I had to have my new favorite cereal – Kashi Go Lean Crunch!  And, of course, I had my eggs, too.

1 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch + ~1/2 cup of unsweetened soymilk

1 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch + ~1/2 cup of unsweetened soymilk

I felt the need for some extra protein this morning so I bumped up my eggs - 3/4 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

I felt the need for some extra protein this morning so I bumped up my eggs - 3/4 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

I also inhaled a small banana while I was prepping the rest of my breakfast.

Since baby was up so early, she was already napping by 7:30! So I came back downstairs for some decaf, wish-it-were-regular coffee. The way I chug my decaf in the morning, you’d think I was getting some sort of caffeine boost. I have to pretend instead. Doesn’t quite work as well. 😉

I had lunch at 11 since I had already been up FOREVER – peach protein shake and a warm whole wheat tortilla with almond butter.

blog 058

I used up my last scoop of Jay Robb protein powder. Aaaah! I need to restock. That was poor planning on my part.

It as a pretty exhausting day overall. Baby was not interested in napping much today, despite the fact that she was exhausted and rubbing her eyes! I finally got her down for another nap around 1:30. Then it was snack time!

Chicken slices with mustard and a Jonamac apple

Chicken slices with mustard and a Jonamac apple

I managed to sneak in a short nap on the couch late this afternoon, which I really needed!

Dinner was one of my old standbys – chicken and veggie stir fry. I’ve mentioned before that this isn’t really a true stir fry. I steam all of my veggies and then add them to the skillet with the cooked chicken and soy sauce. I prefer to do it this way because I don’t really like greasy, oily meals. Although there are cooking oils that are perfectly healthy, I like to keep this meal lighter. The veggies are perfectly filling without all that oil!

blog 060

blog 061

After baby was sounds asleep in her crib (which was pretty early due to her lack of napping), I headed down to the basement and cranked out 45 minutes on my Spinning bike. I felt myself fading around the 40-minute mark, but I kept on pushing.

I’m contemplating a snack right now… I do know though that I would like to get into bed at a decent hour and catch some zzz’s before baby gets up again!

Hope you all had a fab weekend!

*******************************************************************

Question of the night:

Do you use protein powder? Why/Why not? What kind do you use?

I used to use whey protein powder, but since that made from dairy, I now use brown rice protein powder. I started using protein powder about 3 and a half years ago when I started working out more seriously. Protein is great for muscle repair and muscle building, and it also helps to keep you full.

6 responses to ““The rain makes me feel oogy.”

  1. I use the same stuff as you but need to put in in the awesome shakes you make instead of eating it plain, yuk!
    I’m also thinking of adding it to oatmeal or breakfast cookies!
    Your stir-fry looks amazing. I love anything stir-fry!

  2. wow I admire your ability to beat out a 45 min workout while takin care of baby all day everyday! Your meals look healthy and yummy 🙂 Good tip about steaming the veggies then adding them! I don`t usually use protein powder..but if I do it`s usually a whey chocolate powder

  3. I make my stir fries with vegetable broth instead of oil. You can brown your meat in it first and then add veggies, cover and “steam” them all together with the broth. Most of it boils down and then you can add whatever sauce you like.

  4. Rain makes me feel blah too! All I want to do when it rains is stay inside and watch movies.

    The only protein powder I’ve tried is Spirutein and I liked it! The cookies and cream reminds me of Oreo Flurries 🙂

  5. I have never used protein powder before. I’ve read other blogs where it’s used in shakes and breakfast cookies. Should I try it?!

  6. peach protein shake, kashi, stir fry.. this post is full of fabulous eats! love it! i use PP every day of my liiiife. makes balancing my proteins & carbs simpler! and i love the taste.

Leave a Reply

