Drive-Thru Post!

I’m going to (hopefully) make this a quick one so I can watch one of my favorite shows tonight – Heroes!! Love it!

I got a fabulous night’s sleep last night which included a stretch of 6 consecutive hours! Woohoo! And, baby let me sleep until almost 7 today.

Once I was up, I was ready for one of my favorite breakfasts – Banana Bread Oatmeal with scrambled egg/egg whites.

blog 062

blog 063

I used 3/4 cup of oatmeal today and only 1 tbs of ground flaxseed. This breakfast kept me full for 5 hours!

I went out for a bit this morning to run a few errands. It was a gorgeous day! I regret that I didn’t spend more time outside.

For lunch, I made a wrap with deli chicken, light mayo, lettuce, and pickles. So tasty…

blog 064

…but not so filling. I followed this up with a protein shake about an hour later. I used a new protein powder I picked up at the drug store this morning. (I love trying new things!) I bought MLO Vegetable Protein Powder. It’s unflavored, so I knew I’d need to add quite a bit of fruit. I blended it with 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1/4 cup of OJ, and 3/4 cup of frozen mixed berries.

blog 065

It was pretty chalky and gritty. It may be because I only used 1-1/4 cups of liquid and the canister recommends 2 cups. I definitely need to get Jay Robb back in my life!

Later in the afternoon, I wolfed down a small banana.

blog 066

The highlight of my afternoon was the package I received from Foodbuzz. It contained 2 loaves of Nature’s Pride bread. There’s a loaf of 100% whole wheat and a loaf of 12-grain. I haven’t tried them yet, but I did look at the nutritional stats. They’re pretty caloric – 110 calories per slice. And they have 20 carbs in just one slice, with only 2 grams of fiber. Hmmm… I’m sure they’ll taste good, but I prefer my sprouted grain bread that’s higher in fiber and protein, and lower in calories.

blog 067

I had yet another new product for dinner – Gardein Tuscan Breasts. I roasted some eggplant to have on the side.

blog 070

blog 071

This was just ok. It was definitely my least favorite Gardein product I’ve tried. I didn’t particularly care for the sauce. It was filling though!

Have you tried any “meat substitutes”? If so, what’s your favorite?

I loooove Gardein BBQ Pulled Shreds! Sooo good!! They’re quite hearty, too.

After I ate dinner and settled baby into her crib, I did Biggest Loser Power Sculpt. I actually listened to my iPod while I was doing it because I’ve done the video so many times, I think I could do it in my sleep!

After my workout, I snacked on an apple.

I didn’t actually finish this post before my show started! So I took a break and came back to finish it. Time for a shower, jammies, and bed! Night.

7 responses to “Drive-Thru Post!

  1. i eat a lot “fake meat” b/c my hubby’s a vegetarian but i try not to eat too much of it b/c it’s so highly processed. that said, i really love the Trader Joe’s Meatless Meatballs – can never say no to it!

  2. i can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the bread you got from FoodBuzz. i bet you its amazing! 🙂

    hope you enjoyed your shows tonight!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. Never had meat substitutes, I have tofu in my fridge but I’m nervous to try it and don’t know how to prepare it:(

  4. banana bread oatmeal sounds oh so delicious!! Love that brand of bread – its my favorite!!

  5. ohhhh i watched heroes like season one but haven’t caught it since!

    i have never tried gardein products, but the pulled BBQ pork sounds delightful!

  6. I need to try those shreds! Pulled pork was one of my favorite dinners as a kid. I like TJs meatless meatballs and Amy’s Bistro burgers though – bueno 🙂

  7. I am a big fan of the Veggie Patch meatless meats (oxymoron?) and Amy’s burgers, obvs!

Leave a Reply

