Calories In, Calories Out

I had yet another one of those days when I just couldn’t seem to satisfy my hunger. I think I finally figured out why. My daughter just turned 6 months old and I’m still nursing. Her calorie needs are higher now, so that means mine are too! My “calories in” are way below my “calories out.” Nursing alone burns up to 500 calories a day. Add 45 minutes of circuit training or Spinning to that and my calorie burn is way up there.

I’ve unintentionally created a calorie deficit that’s causing me to continue to lose weight. I’m still within the normal range for my height, but it’s definitely nearing the low end. I’ve got to start adding some more healthy calories to my diet. Perhaps 2 protein shakes a day instead of just one??

Ok, onto today….

I ate breakfast in three parts today:

Part I: Small banana with almond butter (spread onto every bite, of course!)

Part I: Small banana with almond butter (spread onto every bite, of course!)

Part II: 1 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch with about 1/3 of a cup of unsweetened soymilk

Part II: 1 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch with about 1/3 of a cup of unsweetened soymilk

Part III: Scrambled eggs (3/4 cup of egg whites + 1 whole, tiny egg

Part III: Scrambled eggs (3/4 cup of egg whites + 1 whole, tiny egg

The morning was nothing special – a few cups of decaf coffee and several online job applications. Yada yada yada.

I was ready for lunch at 11, so I made a protein shake with 1 cup of soymilk, 2 tbs vegetable protein powder, 1 tbs cocoa powder, 1 small banana, 2 packets of Stevia. I also had a La Tortilla Factorywhole wheat tortilla with 1 tbs of almond butter.

blog 075

After lunch, I was feeling pretty bored, so I took baby downtown for a walk. We were in matching purple fleece jackets! Haha. I stopped into a little bakery and got a coffee to drink during my walk. I ended up talking to my mom on the phone for the majority of the walk, which was about 30 minutes long.

When I got home, I felt like I was starving to death! I had a bowl of homemade applesauce and some chicken slices.

blog 076

blog 077

I started prepping dinner around 3:30. I made stuffed peppers, so I was able to prepare them early and stick them in the oven just before 5. Before I got started though, I was high with another wave of starvation so I heated up another tortilla to eat. I love these things!!

blog 078

I decided to make my stuffed peppers a little differently tonight. I left out the usual whole wheat couscous and added more veggies. First, I cut the tops off the peppers and boiled the peppers for about 10 minutes to soften them up. Then I sauteed 1/2 lb of extra lean ground turkey, diced red onion, the diced pepper tops, and diced mushrooms in a large skillet coated with cooking spray. When the turkey was fully cooked, I added in some chopped fresh spinach and let it wilt. Then I added 3/4 can of roasted garlic tomato sauce, a splash of water, and some dried basil. I stuffed the peppers with the turkey and veggie mixture and topped them off with the remaining sauce. They came out great! Didn’t miss the couscous at all. They were just as hearty without it.

My pepper fell over right before I snapped the pic. :-(

My pepper fell over right before I snapped the pic.

The hubby's pepper was much more photogenic! His had cheese too.

The hubby's pepper was much more photogenic! His had cheese too.

Baby was asleep early again – 6:15. I waited for hubby to hop off the Spinning bike, then I hopped on around 7. I rode for about 40 minutes. I had some pretty heavy resistance on there tonight. My buns were burning! 😛

I was famished yet again after my ride so I had a small piece of leftover chicken. Protein was just what I needed. I almost went for cereal, but I would have been hungry again before bed!

Catch you all tomorrow!

6 responses to “Calories In, Calories Out

  1. Husbands always make their food look better.
    Mine already knows I’m going to ask for a bite…even if it’s the same thing.

  2. i love stuffed peppers! unfortunately my hubby won’t eat peppers and i’m too lazy to make it for just one. i should start stuffing tomatoes….

  3. 500 calories from breast feeding?! Wow! I forgot about stuffed peppers for some reason. I always have peppers on had but never remember to stuffy them!

  4. Calories in vs. out is something I haven’t figured out yet either right now, my weight is getting a little on the low end again!
    Good luck with some more good food options.
    Love your stuffed peppers!

  5. ah bottomless pit days kill me! love la tortilla factory tortillas. glad you filled up with good eats!

  6. i love stuffed peppers, especially when they are filled with more veggies! amazing recipe girl! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

