Health Nuts

Good evening! Let me dive right into my day….

I’ve been on a serious almond butter kick lately, so I started my day today with an almond butter/banana/raisin wrap and some eggs (1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg).

blog 081

blog 082

I had to leave fairly early this morning to take baby to the doctor. I got hung up in some road construction on the way and walked into the office about 5 minutes after my scheduled appointment. No biggie though. Doctors are NEVER on time anyway!

I was already home by 10 am, and relaxed for about an hour before making some lunch.

chicken salad (made with light mayo), lettuce, and pickles on a whole wheat sandwich thin with an apple on the side

chicken salad (made with light mayo), lettuce, and pickles on a whole wheat sandwich thin with an apple on the side

I didn’t do much of anything for the rest of the day. Just played with baby and tried to keep her happy. She was a bit on the fussy side after all the shots she had this morning. 😦

Afternoon snacks today included:

Fiber One with soymilk

Fiber One with soymilk

 

Protein shake: 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1/2 a banana, 2 tbs vegetable protein powder, 1 tbs of cocoa powder, 2 packets of Stevia, ice

Protein shake: 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1/2 a banana, 2 tbs vegetable protein powder, 1 tbs of cocoa powder, 2 packets of Stevia, ice

Since it definitely felt like fall today, I decided to cook up a fall veggie for dinner to go with my grilled chickenroasted butternut squash. The squash was the highlight of the meal! Besides the fact that it was ENORMOUS, it got all nice and crispy on top!

blog 086

Baby was a bit difficult to settle tonight. Still a bit fussy from the shots. But I finally got her to bed around 6:50. I procrastinated for a bit before I finally changed into my workout gear and did Biggest Loser Power Sculpt.

I’m very pleasantly full from my squash so no need for an evening snack tonight!

********************************************************************

Nuts and nut butters have become staples in my diet. But they used to be on my list of forbidden foods because of the fat content. What was I thinking?! Nuts are full of healthy, monounsaturated fat and have a whole host of health benefits. Here are just some of the great things about nuts:

  • they reduce your risk of heart disease
  • they aid in weight control by keeping you full
  • they’re full of protein, fiber, and other nutrients

Do you eat nuts regularly? What’s your favorite way to eat them?

I love almond butter with banana and walnuts on my oats!

4 responses to “Health Nuts

  1. Almonds and almond butter are my faves with any kind of fruit, especially pineapple!

  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE nuts! and i love that half of a butternut squash – it looks so roasted and yummy!

    my fave way to eat nuts…hmmm probably as nut butter or in trail mix!

  3. peanutbutterfingers

    i looooove nuts! i like them best in cookies… but try to use them in Greek yogurt, oatmeal and salads the most. :o)

  4. is this even a question?! I eat nut butter and nuts everrrrryday 🙂 call it an addiction.. but I’m in love!

Leave a Reply

