Weekend Eats

Happy Saturday! I hope you’re all enjoying your weekend. Here’s a recap of Friday and Saturday’s food and fitness.

FRIDAY

When I woke up, I thought to myself that it had been far too many days since I had had oat bran! So I made a big bowl of Banana Bread Oat Bran, along with 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg, scrambled.

blog 093

blog 094

I stayed in all morning, doing things around the house and playing with baby. Pretty low-key.

My oat bran kept me quite full for a long time. I didn’t have lunch until about 12:30. (Keep in mind I get up around 6:00!) We were all out of lunchmeat and most everything else so I made an almond butter and jelly sandwich on a whole wheat sandwich thin. Pretty delicious for a “we’re all out of everything” lunch!!

blog 095

blog 096

I also made a protein shake to take with me over to my dad’s house to visit.

blog 097

In the mix:

  • 1-1/2 cups of unsweetened soymilk
  • 1-1/2 tbs of cocoa powder
  • 3 tbs of vegetable protein powder
  • 2 packets of Stevia
  • ice

I was very full again after my sandwich and shake. I think I actually did it right today – never let myself get really hungry!

I stopped in at my dad’s for a few minutes. He was working from home for the day and about to jump on a conference call. So I left my car parked at his house and took baby for a walk downtown. We walked about 2 miles – and, of course, I stopped in a Dunkin Donuts for a decaf coffee along the way. It was chilly out!!

When I got home, I had a small snack to tide me over until dinner.

the last 1/4 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch and a splash of soymilk

the last 1/4 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch and a splash of soymilk

Dinner was quick, easy, and yummy – Spaghetti Squash “Spaghetti” with Ground Turkey Meat Sauce.

blog 099

Since I went for a good long walk earlier in the day, I skipped out on any additional exercise and finished my night with a nice cold beer instead! 🙂

SATURDAY

Baby did not sleep well at all last night, so I totally felt like a zombie this morning. I couldn’t even remember what day it was when I got up!!

We had made plans to take my little bro and sis (they’re 16 and 12) to breakfast later in the morning, but I, of course, had to eat a pre-breakfast when I got up at 6:30!

banana with almond butter

banana with almond butter

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

We ended up having to wait for a table at the little diner we went to. We probably got our food around 10:15 or 10:30. Good thing I had pre-breakfast! Otherwise I would have been a total cranky pants by then! I had a bowl of oatmeal and some scrambled Egg Beaters. I had my camera in the diaper bag, but I ended up holding baby while I was eating. Taking a picture was nearly impossible! I had my hands full just trying to keep her hands out of my food! 🙂

Back at the house, I had lunch around 1. Lunch was a repeat of yesterday: almond butter and jelly sandwich with a protein shake.

blog 102

Just as delicious as yesterday!!

I decided to go grocery shopping solo this afternoon. I usually drive about 30 minutes to a store that I like better than the one that’s 15 minutes away. It’s cheaper, too! But today, I was all about convenience. I sucked it up and went to the one that’s 15 minutes away. Probably spent a few extra bucks, but saved myself at least an hour.

For my afternoon snack, I had a TJ’s Boysenberry Fruit Strip.

blog 103

It was like an all-natural Fruit Rollup! Mmmm! I love that it doesn’t have any added sugar. It doesn’t need it. The fruit is sweet enough!

For dinner I baked some lemon pepper haddock and roasted some asparagus (lightly coated with olive oil) in the oven. Deeee-lish! I love how the asparagus gets all crunchy at the top!!

blog 104

I love roasting vegetables in the oven. It really brings out the flavor! What’s your favorite way to prepare veggies?

After baby went to bed, I changed and headed to the basement for Biggest Loser Power Sculpt. I really had to talk myself into doing this tonight. I’m sooo exhausted. But I did it. Yay me!

Once I emerged from the basement, I split a kiwi with the hubby.

blog 105

I may or may not have had a bowl of Fiber One, too. 😉

I can’t believe tomorrow is Sunday already! I’m looking forward to a full day of relaxation (with some exercise thrown in there, of course). 😀

6 responses to “Weekend Eats

  1. Hi! I commented right under you on PB & Jenny’s blog and wanted to say hi and that we have the same protein shaker cup…except mine’s pink and yours is orange 🙂 Happy Saturday and I love the name of your blog. It’s what I aspire to be too 🙂

  2. If I didn’t eat breakfast until 10:15, I’d be really cranky to!
    I don’t know if you’ve ever posted this or not but could you show what you usually get for groceries or how you plan it all out? I love knowing how others do it all and I’m an organizational freak!
    Have a great and relaxing Sunday!

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      Leianna – Great idea! I will work on a post for this coming Saturday (that’s when I usually shop) detailing my usual purchases. 🙂

  3. Beer over exercise – I love it! I also love the PBJ! It will always be there for you 😉

    When it comes to veggies it depends on the weather. If it’s warm, I’m all about the cold, crunchy, raw veggies but if it’s cold, I’m a roasted/steamed girl!

  4. roasted veggies are the BEST! just by simply putting salt pepper and EVOO, the flavors are awesome! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  5. PB&J .. never fails!

    I love my veggies steamed, or grilled – especially squash.. oh my! soooo good!

Leave a Reply

