The Smell of Fall

Baby was up at 6 today, but I didn’t mind because she let me get a good night’s sleep last night! I didn’t come downstairs until 6:30ish, which gave me plenty of time to plan out my breakfast. ๐Ÿ˜€

Today I made creamy banana oatmeal with scrambled eggs. This was seriously the best bowl of oats I’ve had in a long time!! It was basically Banana Bread Oatmeal with one small change – I used 1/2 cup ofย water and 1/2 cup of soymilk.

blog 001

2/3 cup of egg whites + 1 teeny tiny egg

2/3 cup of egg whites + 1 teeny tiny egg

The morning was spent applying to more jobs. Pretty standard.

When I tried to put baby down for her second nap in the late morning, she just would not go to sleep in the crib. She would sleep in my arms though. So today I chose the path of least resistance and held her while she napped. It was actually quite relaxing for me. I sat in the glider and closed my eyes for a while.

By the time she woke up, I was pretty darn hungry. I made what I like to call a veggie dog burrito – 2 Smart Dogs with ketchup, mustard, and pickles rolled up in a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla. Odd? Perhaps. Delicious? Absolutely! ๐Ÿ™‚

blog 003

blog 004

The only problem with this lunch was the EXTREMELY low calorie content – only 170 calories. So I followed it up pretty quickly with a protein shake:

  • 1 cup of soymilk
  • 1 tbs of cocoa powder
  • 2 tbs of veggie protein powder
  • 2 packets of stevia
  • splash of vanilla
  • ice

blog 005

After lunch, I loaded baby in the car and headed downtown for some fresh air and exercise. We walked the usual loop and stopped into the bakery for a cup of coffee to keep me warm. It was a gorgeous fall day. For the first time, I noticed that it even smelled like fall. I love the smell of the leaves. Fall in New England is absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately though it’s followed all too quickly by winter in New England which, for lack of a better term, SUCKS!

Anway… I’ll spare you the “I hate winter” rant. You’ll read enough of that in the coming months! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Once I got home, I got baby settled for another nap and grabbed a snack for myself.

Apple Cinnamon Z Bar

Apple Cinnamon Z Bar

Have I ever mentioned that I’m the world’s worst photographer?? Notice the camera strap hanging down in the corner?? Yeah, I’m that bad!

The rest of the afternoon was spent making baby food and then prepping dinner.

For dinner, I decided on turkey burgers with the last of the summer squash from the garden. I cut up one zucchini,ย one yellow squash, and 1/2 a red onion and tossed them with some balsamic vinegar, dried parsley, dried basil, and dried oregano. I put everything in a glass baking dish and roasted them for about 35 or 40 minutes at 400 degrees.

blog 007

They were delish! They could have used more balsamic vinegar though. Unfortunately I only had about 1 or 2 tbs left.

I used to make turkey burgers all the time, but the hubby used to complain they were too dry and too bland. He was right. I’m always trying to find ways to spice up my burgers now. Tonight I think I finally got it right! These burgers were moist and flavorful.

For 2 burgers:

  • 1/2 lb of extra lean ground turkey
  • ~1/4 cup of oats
  • 1 tiny egg
  • ~1/4 cup of chopped red onion
  • garlic salt
  • pepper

blog 008

The burgers came out huge because I squished them in the Foreman grill! I ended up topping my burger with some ketchup and mustard. This was quite a satisfying meal!

Baby was sound asleep by 6:30 – time for Mama to exercise! I cranked out just over 40 minutes on the bike. I didn’t want to ride, but I was glad I did. It was a good one! I felt great after I was done.

I’m feeling a little hungry now, but I’m not sure if I’ll have a snack before bed. In addition to the eats listed here, I picked at a few things here and there, including the butternut squash I cooked up for baby.

Do you have a cut-off time at night for eating?

I don’t necessarily have a cut-off, but I don’t typically eat right before bed. This isn’t for any nutritional reason. A calorie is a calorie whether you eat it at 9 am or 9 pm. I just don’t like to go to bed too full. Plus, I like to have a big appetite for my favorite meal of the day – BREAKFAST!! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 responses to “The Smell of Fall

  1. i like fall but i LOVE winter ๐Ÿ™‚ the breakfast looks fab and it sounds nice to have a nap with your little one! i eat all hours, no matter what. as long as i am hungry.

  2. I try to say nothing after 7pm because I love a bigger breakfast as well, but sometimes ice cream is just too tempting!
    I wish it smelt like Fall here, instead I smell rain and possible snow:(

  3. I LOVE the smell of fall too – leaves and (this sounds weird) ‘burning’ pumpkins <- the smell of jack-o-laterns!

    I eat whenever I'm hungry. I don't want to wake up at 3AM hungry so if I'm hungry before bed – chow time! Have a great Wednesday!

  4. I HATE winter here. Too.Dang.Cold. Ugh.
    I wouldn’t skip dinner if it was late but I am the same as you – I hate the feeling of going to bed full – really hate it. I’d rather be a bit hungry than totally stuffed anyday.

Leave a Reply

