Appreciate Your Body

Good evening, bloggies! Hope you all had a lovely day. Let me start with some giveaways:

Phew! Now, onto my day…

Baby was up at the crack of dawn again today. I brought her into the bed with us for a little snuggling before we got up for the day. I came downstairs around 6:30 for a 3-course breakfast:

Course #1: Banana with almond butter

Course #1: Banana with almond butter

Course #2: 1 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch + 1/2 cup of soymilk

Course #2: 1 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch + 1/2 cup of soymilk

Course #3: 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

Course #3: 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

The hubby didn’t have to work today, which was great! I went out for a bit in the morning though. I got home around 11:45 and was ready for lunch. It was nice to be able to sit with in the dining room with hubby and baby for lunch! 🙂

turkey with light mayo, lettuce, and pickles on a whole wheat tortilla

turkey with light mayo, lettuce, and pickles on a whole wheat tortilla

Later on, I made protein shakes for 2:

  • 1-1/2 cups of soymilk
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1 heaping tbs of cocoa powder
  • 2 packets of stevia
  • 4 tbs of veggie protein powder
  • ice

blog 013

I didn’t do a very good job pouring equally. Naturally I took the one that had the most in it. 😉

Later in the afternoon, I also snacked on an apple.

blog 014

Dinner was another new product! How exciting am I these days?! 😀 I tried Gardein Chicken Style Filets.

blog 015

I served these up with some steamed carrots and spinach. I cooked my spinach differently than I usually do. I sauteed the garlic in white wine and then wilted the spinach in the wine/garlic mixture. Very tasty!

blog 016

The Gardein filets were not nearly as pretty as they looked on the package. They were pretty good though; nothing spectacular. My hubby remarked that all the Gardein products just taste the same to him. For the most part, I agree. But I do love the BBQ Pulled Shreds! They have a great taste to them from all the BBQ sauce.

I putted baby to bed and then stalled a bit before heading downstairs for my workout. I wasn’t feeling particularly well today and I really didn’t want to exercise. I grabbed a quick snack to power me through my workout.

walnuts

walnuts

Then I completed all 3 levels of Biggest Loser Power Sculpt for about the one millionth time. I must, must, MUST order my new video!

*******************************************************************

While I was doing my video tonight, I thought to myself how I’d come such a long way from my couch potato junk food eating days. I never imagined I’d be doing push ups and holding a plank position for 1 minute. That, in turn, made me think about how much I appreciate the things my body can do and the things it has done.

  • I appreciate that my legs can power me through an intense ride on my Spinning bike.
  • I appreciate that my body was strong enough to carry a baby for 9 months and deliver that same beautiful baby girl.
  • I appreciate that my arms are strong enough to carry my baby around, lug the car seat, etc.
  • I appreciate my body for how strong it has become, and for all the potential it has to become even stronger.

What do you appreciate most about your body?

6 responses to “Appreciate Your Body

  1. Thanks for the love! Im’a lovin the look of those chocolate-y shakes!

  2. I love how uplifting this post is! you are amazing girl! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. My strong legs for getting me through runs on the treadmill!

  4. I love my strong arms and toned upper back and core. I work on my feet for 9 hours a day and all that standing can take a toll on you after a while.

    It’s funny that you took the larger shake – I normally make my hubby take the largest half of everything….except desserts!

  5. i love all the body love! i think i am most proud of my legs right now – they powered me through 26.2 miles. they are strong, muscular and unstoppable!

    have a wonderful day 🙂

  6. what a great reminder to appreciate what we’ve got. i appreciate my arms, i broke my left one once and was totally unable to use it, now that i have a 8″ titanium rod in there, i thank god for the ability to use it! thanks for this! and also thanks for the linkage!

Leave a Reply

