Spinning 101

As you may have noticed (or read on my Fitness page), I ride my Spinning bike every other day. However, I don’t just sit on my bike and pedal at a constant pace or constant resistance for 40-45 minutes. I always do intervals including all of the various Spinning moves:

  • Sprints – light resistance, fast pace
  • Seated climbs – moderate to heavy resistance, seated
  • Standing climbs – moderate to heavy resistance, standing with hands at the end of the handle bars
  • Running – moderate resistance, standing upright
  • Jumps – moderate to heavy resistance, coming up out of the saddle for 4 beats then back down for 4 beats; repeat

I’m a certified instructor and, although I haven’t taught in quite a while, I love to put together interval rides for myself with some great music. The intervals really up the calorie burn! And who doesn’t love to burn more calories in less time?! 😉

*******************************************************************

I didn’t get up until almost 7 today, which was fab! I came downstairs and made myself a big bowl of oat bran and some scrambled eggs.

blog 018

I added dates to my usual Banana Bread Oats. I actually didn’t particularly care for the dates in my oat bran. I think I’ll stick to eat my dates stuffed with almond butter!

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

I was feeling ambitious today so I took baby out with me to Target. I bought all sorts of baby items – and saved $10 with coupons. Woohoo! 😀

When I got home, I fed baby her lunch then made lunch for myself – a protein shake and an almond butter and jelly sandwich.

blog 020

My protein shake contained:

  • 1 cup of soymilk
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 1 tbs of cocoa powder
  • 3 tbs of veggie protein powder
  • 2 packets of stevia

Throughout the afternoon, I snacked on various things – apricots, an apple, cereal… I’m sure there were some other nibbles I’m forgetting about. It was one of those days.

I was feeling super lazy at dinner time so I whipped up some French toast for the hubby and made myself a veggie dog burrito.

blog 022

After I ate this, I needed a little something extra to fill me up. I opened the fridge and there was some Chobani staring me in the face. I’ve been seriously missing greek yogurt these days, so I broke my no dairy policy and ate one. (I’ll have to replace it. It was my mother-in-law’s.) I mixed in some stevia and cocoa powder. Mmmm!

blog 023

blog 024

My tummy is seriously hating me right now for eating that yogurt! Ugh.

After baby was in bed, I did my 40-minute interval ride on my bike. It was a pretty intense ride tonight!!

I’m looking forward to tomorrow morning. My aunt and my grandpa are in town and we’re meeting them for breakfast! 😀

4 responses to “Spinning 101

  1. Yummy almond butter and jelly sandwich!
    I love spinning and wish that had it somewhere here in Iowa, how long did it take before becoming certified to teach?

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      @Leianna – I took Spinning for about a year and a half before I got certified. My instructor encourage me to get certified and I’m so glad she did! For about a year, I taught at 2 different gyms in addition to working at my full-time job. It was busy, but who wouldn’t love to get paid to workout?! 🙂

  2. love that hot dog wrap – it looks fun! greek yog – soooo delicious! sorry it gives your tumtum trouble 😦

  3. the only spin class i did was with this old dude and it was SO boring! i wish you could be my instructor! have fun at breakfast, sounds fun!!

Leave a Reply

