Grocery Shopping, Healthy Fit Mama Style

Last week, I received a question from a reader asking if I could detail my weekly grocery haul. So, as promised, here is a look at my weekly shop.

Although I’m not the type of person who plans out the week’s menu in advance, I do usually have an idea in my head of what my meals will look like. Each week for dinners, we usually have:

  • chicken 2-3 nights – I rotate between baked chicken, grilled chicken, chicken and veggie stir fry, and chicken fajitas
  • ground turkey 1-2 nights – either tacos, turkey burgers, stuffed peppers, or Spaghetti Squash “Spaghetti” with Ground Turkey Meat Sauce
  • fish 1 night – usually baked haddock, baked salmon, or a shrimp dish
  • vegetarian entree 1-2 nights – usually a Gardein product, sometimes tofu or tempeh

In addition, there are some staples in my pantry that I might not buy every week, but I certainly make sure we don’t run out:

  • oatmeal
  • oat bran
  • raisins
  • ground flaxseed meal
  • almond butter
  • peanut butter
  • walnuts
  • almonds
  • coffee

For 3 of us (me, hubby and baby), I usually spend about $130-$150 per week. It’s getting more like $150 per week now that baby eats more solid foods. I buy extra fruit and veggies to puree for her.

This week’s shopping trip yielded the following:

blog 028

  • skim milk (for the hubby)
  • plain, non-fat yogurt (also for the hubby)
  • unsweetened soymilk
  • egg whites

blog 029

  • Fiber One
  • Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • applesauce
  • Larabars
  • Z Bars
  • decaf coffee
  • almond butter
  • apple butter (new purchase for me this week!)

blog 030

  • raisins
  • tomato sauce
  • canned chicken breast
  • soup (for the hubby – I’m not a big soup person)
  • shells and cheese (again, for the hubby)
  • bread and butter pickles

blog 031

  • green bell peppers (planning on making stuffed peppers this week!)
  • 2 bunches of bananas (we’re banana fiends!)
  • baby carrots
  • organic romaine lettuce
  • spinach
  • macintosh apples
  • acorn squash
  • spaghetti squash
  • peaches (for baby)
  • pears (for baby)

blog 032

  • whole wheat tortillas
  • deli turkey
  • frozen green beans
  • frozen mixed berries

blog 033

  • boneless chicken breasts
  • haddock filets
  • extra lean ground turkey
  • Smart Dogs
  • Gardein BBQ Pulled Shreds

I like to buy as many natural, organic, and fresh products as I can, but I have to be as budget-conscious as possible right now. That’s where things like frozen green beans come in. They’re just as healthy as fresh ones though!

And there you have it – grocery shopping, Healthy Fit Mama style!

4 responses to “Grocery Shopping, Healthy Fit Mama Style

  1. Oooh.. apple butter! Can’t wait to hear how you like it!

  2. great post! I always have trouble sticking to the essentials when I go to the grocery store 😦 I have major impulse buyer syndrome!

  3. Love this post girl! its always fun to see what other peoples staples are, it gives me great ideas for the next time i’m at the store! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. You are so organized and I love how you do the chicken, fish and veggie nights!
    And the different things for hubby and baby!
    My hubby doesn’t like anything I like so it makes it harder!
    Thanks for doing this, I love grocery shopping so seeing how others do it is just as amusing to me:)

Leave a Reply

