Breakfast Date – and Exercise Commitment

Good morning! Thanks for bearing with me as I adjust my schedule.

Yesterday morning I was up around 6:15. I had a breakfast date planned with my hubby for later in the morning, but, you know me – I can’t wait 3 hours to eat breakfast! So I started my day the way I’ve started many of my days recently – with a banana and almond butter. I mixed it up a bit though and used my honey almond butter.

blog 054

blog 055

I’m slowly introducing some finger foods to baby, so along with her usual cereal/fruit mix, I gave her some little pieces of bread for breakfast. She wasn’t too interested, so mama ended up eating the slice of bread instead! ๐Ÿ™‚

Hubby, baby, and I headed downtown to this new little cafe around 9 for breakfast. I ordered a bowl of oatmeal with raisins and 2 scrambled eggs. I’ve sort of given up on trying to take pictures while I’m out with baby for the time being. I usually spend most of my time trying to keep her from throwing her toys and taking her shoes off! But just visualize a bowl of oatmeal the size of my head. That’s what Iย ate! ๐Ÿ˜€

It was nice to go out for breakfast, just the 3 of us. Since we moved in with my in-laws, we don’t get much time to spend together without anyone else around.

Back at home, baby wasn’t much interested in napping, so we ended up taking her for a walk instead. It was FREAKIN’ COLD! I could actually see my breath. The fact that it was drizzly didn’t help either.

For lunch, I made myselfย  a mocha protein shake. It was tasty, but it wasn’t quite thick enough for me. A shake just isn’t a shake without banana!

  • 1 cup of soymilk
  • ~2/3 cup of cool decaf coffee
  • 4 tbs of veggie protein powder
  • 1 tbs of cocoa powder
  • splash of vanilla
  • 2 packets of stevia
  • ice

blog 056

The afternoon was a bit rough. Baby was fussy and wouldn’t nap. Not sure what’s going on with her… I grab a couple snacks on the fly, but didn’t snap pics – an apple and a couple handfuls of cereal.

For dinner, I baked some chicken in the oven sprinkled with granulated garlic, salt, pepper, and parsley. To go along with it, I roasted an acorn squash. OMG – I forgot how much I love acorn squash! It has such a nice, slightly sweet taste to it.

blog 057

After I put baby to bed, I started doing Biggest Loser Power Sculpt in the basement. I got interrupted a couple of times by baby waking up crying. She just couldn’t settle down. Unfortunately, the trend continued all night long… I eventually finished my video though.

After my workout and my trying times with baby, I needed a treat. So I split a Spooky S’mores Clif Z Bar with my hubby. It was yummy! Just the right amount of sweetness to satisfy me.

blog 058

*******************************************************************

Part of why I’ve recently adjusted my blogging schedule is so I can focus on using my time in the evening to get my workouts in, relax a bit, shower, and get to bed at a decent hour. I’m committed to making exercise a part of my daily routine. It’s definitely taken some adjusting to get used to working out at the end of the day when I’m most tired, but it’s when I have the most time to myself. Exercise is as much a priority to me as eating healthy and getting a enough sleep.

How do you make exercise fit into your schedule? Do you exercise at the same time every day?

8 responses to “Breakfast Date – and Exercise Commitment

  1. As each year goes by I find it harder and harder to fit exercise in. While I can get up at the crack of dawn some days to exercise, I just don’t have it in me to do it every day. So some days I get up early, and some days I wait until after work.

  2. A bowl of oats as big as your head sounds really good right about now! I’m freezing my booty off today!!

    Love the mocha protein shake ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sometimes i find it hard to fit exercise in my schedule but i just try and make time for what works! i dont stress over it if i can’t fit it in!

    Uh i totally need to try that almond butter!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. I always work out in the mornings right when I wake up! that way I don’t have to stress throughout the day about it ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Don’t you love that honey almond butter? I want to just swim in the jar….

  6. ohhhhh roasted acorn squash is SO good. and i need to find that clif-z bar – they are nowhere to be found in my area!

    i totally agree – a shake is not a shake without a banana!

  7. I workout around lunch time and sometimes late evening when it’s nice outside and super quiet!
    I’m eating some blue diamond honey almond butter right now, I love it!

  8. i think your schedule adjustment is a great idea! sounds like you will have more time to get the things done that are–dare i say it–more important than blogging ๐Ÿ™‚ godd on you!!

Leave a Reply

