The One

Hello friends! I feel like I’ve been so disconnected from the blogosphere these last few days! I’m not sure this new blogging schedule is making my life easier… It may actually be making things harder. I won’t necessarily say I’ll go back to posting each night about the day’s eats. I can’t commit! So, I’ll just say that my posting may be a bit haphazard for the time being.

With that said, here’s a rundown of yesterday and today.

TUESDAY

Yesterday was a pretty quiet day overall that started with a 3 course breakfast:

banana with almond butter

banana with almond butter

Kashi Go Lean Crunch with unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze

Kashi Go Lean Crunch with unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

I checked my e-mail around 9:30 am, which is when I found out I got called back for another interview. I was literally jumping up and down. I really want to believe that this is the one! But I’m trying not to get overly excited, just in case.

After I let out my excitement, I took baby out for a walk in her stroller. The little goober fell asleep and threw off our whole daily routine! Oh well – she obviously needed it!

For lunch, I had a wrap – turkey, light mayo, lettuce, and pickles on a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla.

blog 096

For “lunch dessert,” I had something I haven’t had in a while – an Apple Pie Larabar. It was a nice reminder of how much I love these!!

blog 097

Later in the afternoon, my tummy was rumbling again so I had a nice ripe banana.

blog 098

Some people like their bananas more green, but I like mine verging on overripe. The flavor is so much more intense.

How do you prefer your bananas – slightly underripe, ripe, or overripe?

For dinner, I made chicken fajita salads. These are so easy to make and easy to clean up. It’s all cooked in one skillet! I just cut 2 chicken breasts into strips, sliced up 3 peppers and 1 small onion, and tossed it all into a no stick pan sprayed with cooking spray. Then I sprinkled on a mixture of chili powder, cumin, and black pepper. In my opinion, this is way better than any fajitas at a restaurant! Not greasy and heavy, but still very tasty and filling!

blog 099

I ended up skipping my workout so I could focus on prepping for my interview. I hadn’t taken an off day in well over a week anyway. My body needed a rest.

The lack of workout didn’t keep me from snacking though! I was so hungry all night! So I hate the last 1/2 serving of steel cut oatmeal from my sister’s baby shower.

blog 100

I’m thinking I need to make a huge batch of steel cut oats more often. I love the texture and it’s so convenient to just pop some in the microwave in the morning.

So, we’ve been having trouble lately with our baby girl not wanting my husband to put her to bed. She’s going through a major mommy stage. I love her, but sometimes I need a little break! So we’ve been working at it. Last night, my husband successfully put her to bed. Yay! Not only that, but he got up with her in the middle of the night so I could get some rest. She only got up once! She slept so much better. This is proof that she’s not really been waking up to eat so much as she’s just been waking up to cuddle with mommy!

WEDNESDAY

Today was another crazy morning. I was up at 6 to get myself ready to drive to Mass for my interview. Baby slep until 7:15 (something she NEVER does!) so I had plenty of time to get myself together and eat this delicious breakfast:

Banana Bread Oat Bran

Banana Bread Oat Bran

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg

Today was one of those weird mornings when my breakfast was waaaay more filling than usual. I honestly felt a little sick after I finished. Isn’t that so weird how one day you can gobble something up no problem and the next day it totally stuffs you?! I was just as hungry as usual this morning too.

I was fine with being full though, since I knew I wouldn’t be eating again until about noon.

The drive to Mass was brutal. It’s supposed to only take 2 hours to get there but with traffic it takes 3! I was having a major freak out because at one point it took me 45 minutes to go 10 miles…and I was getting low on gas! Luckily I got to my interview on time, and even had a few extra minutes to get gas.

The interview went really great! I was there for an hour and a half. I have a really good feeling about this. I think it might be “the one!”

When I got out of the interview, I immediately gobbled up the honey graham Z Bar I brought with me. Then I set out to find some lunch. I ended up at Bruegger’s Bagels where I got a half a turkey sandwich on wheat with honey mustard, lettuce, and tomato, and a side salad. I was anxious to get home, so I ate the sandwich while I was driving and saved the salad for later.

I got home around 3 and found a package waiting for me:

blog 103

I decided to order NutriBiotic instead of Jay Robb because, not only do I like the taste of it, but I found it for really cheap on this website. 3lbs for $21.99?? Yes, please!

Of course I had to have some right away, so I blended it with almond milk, vanilla, and ice.

blog 104

After such a busy day, I needed something quick and easy for dinner. Enter Gardein BBQ Pulled Shreds on a sandwich thin with green beans.

blog 105

My husband put baby to bed again. We’ve got to keep that up for a few days so we don’t undo all of our hard work! It was nice for me because I got an earlier start on my workout – Physique 57. I need to get a good playground ball for this workout. I’ll probably order the one on their website. That’s one of things I dislike about this workout. You really need a lot of specific equipment/props. It really burns the muscles though!

I’m sitting here now with a rumbling tummy trying to decide if I’ll eat again before bed or not. I probably won’t, mostly because I don’t feel like putting in the effort right now. I’m wiped out from being on the go!

I hope you’re all having a great week! I promise I’ll be back to commenting soon! I’ve been spending so much time away from the computer!

5 responses to “The One

  1. Glad the interview went well for you! Love those fajitas, and so easy.
    Physique 57 sounds like a good one, heard a little about it.
    Hope baby sleeps great for you tonight!

  2. Wow, 3 hour drive? That won’t be what you commute is if you get the job will it??

    The part when you called your little girl a “goober” made me crack up. 🙂

    I’m the same way in the morning, I love a big breakfast but some days I just can’t get it all down.

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      If I get the job, we are definitely going to move! I would kill myself if I had to sit in traffic like that every day!

  3. Congrats on the interview!! I’ve still got everything possible crossed for you 🙂

    Glad you were able to get some rest! I was wondering (and don’t answer if you don’t want to, I understand the privacy thing) how old your baby is now?

    Hope you’re having a lovely evening!!

  4. girl try not to commit yourself to any kind of schedule — just blog whenever you have the free time 🙂 your blog, your rules!

Leave a Reply

