Whole Foods vs. Trader Joe’s

I was up much later than usual last night, betweencarving pumpkins and celebrating my new job. So naturally I was exhausted when I got up this morning…and HUNGRY!

blog 031

1/2 cup of oat bran, 1 banana, vanilla, cinnamon, 1 tbs of ground flaxseed, raisins, walnuts

(I had 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg, too, but my camera batteries died and I was too hungry to hunt down some batteries before eating!)

The hubby was home with me today and we spent most of the morning looking for an apartment online. I was on the laptop, he was on the desktop.

Around 11, I took a break from the computer and made a protein shake.

blog 032

3/4 cup of almond milk, 1/2 a banana, 2 tbs vanilla rice protein powder, cocoa powder, stevia, ice

After feeding baby her lunch, I made some lunch for myself.

blog 033

chicken salad made with light mayo, lettuce, and pickles on a whole wheat tortilla

Baby was pretty fussy today, which only added to my exhaustion. It was just one of those days when she needed to be entertained every second.

I needed a little snack late this afternoon to get me through to dinner.

blog 035

Dinner tonight couldn’t have been any easier! I cooked up some Gardein BBQ Pulled Shreds and put them on a toasted whole wheat sandwich thin, and paired it with steamed green beans.

blog 036

It was my turn to put baby to bed tonight. (We’re doing every other night now.) She was asleep in her crib by 6:40, so I scurried to the basement and cranked out 40 minutes on my Spinning bike.

*******************************************************************

Hubby and I are going to look at an apartment on Friday that sounds just perfect for us! One of the best parts – there’s a Whole Foods 1.1 miles away and a Trader Joe’s 1.3 miles away! I’ve been to Whole Foods (when we live in CO), but I have never been to TJ’s.

Have you been to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s? Which do you like best? 

3 responses to “Whole Foods vs. Trader Joe’s

  1. i will warn you now, you are going to LOVE TJ’s and probably end up spending every waking moment there! its amazing

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. I don’t think I could ever choose between WF and TJ’s, they are bot h AMAZING! You’ll never want to leave when you go!
    Have fun looking for apartments!

  3. I love both!! However, do not buy produce from Trader Joe’s – it’s awful! Just buy the snack stuff from TJs (and the frozen stuff) and your “Gucci” foods from WFs 🙂

    My paycheck would go out the window if I lived that close to those stores!

Leave a Reply

