First Visit with My Nephew

Good evening! Hope you all had a terrific Tuesday.

I think we successfully got baby back on schedule from the time change. She woke up at 6:40 this morning. I can handle that! For breakfast, I made a delicious almond butter/raisin/banana wrap along with some scrambled egg/egg whites.

blog 051

blog 052

I spent the morning taking care of some moving-related tasks – making phone calls, etc. I feel like I just did this! This is our 4th move in 3 years. Wow.

I had a snack around 10 – Greek yogurt with stevia and cocoa powder. I’m back on a Greek yogurt kick… Does that make me insane? I keep eating it and expecting it not to bother my tummy. It hasn’t been too bad so far, though.

blog 053

I put baby down for her mid-day nap shortly before noon and took advantage of the time to make myself some lunch – turkey on a whole wheat sandwich thin with a tiny bit of light mayo, lettuce, and pickles.

blog 054

After baby woke up, we packed her up in the car and dropped her off at my dad’s house for a few hours so we could make the 1-hour trek to see my sister, brother-in-law, and my brand new nephew. I grabbed an apple and a few walnuts for the ride.

I won’t go into a lot of detail, but my nephew was born 5 weeks early and is in the neonatal ICU. Luckily, he is doing well, but he will be there for a few weeks. But let me tell you…he is a cutie! 😀

By the time we got back to my dad’s to pick up baby, it was 4 o’clock. And when we finally got home, it was 4:30. I was starving, so I inhaled a warm whole wheat tortilla while I prepared dinner, which was roasted acorn squash and chicken with Montreal seasoning.

blog

It was hubby’s night to put baby to bed, so I headed down to the basement around 6:15 for a Physique 57 workout. It always feels good to get my workout done before 7:30 so I can relax and unwind for a while before bed.

*******************************************************************

I’ve been thinking a lot about how going back to work full-time is going to affect my daily eats. Even before I lost my job, I was home all day. I worked from home from July 2008 to June 2009. I didn’t have to plan my lunch and pack it the night before. When I used to work in the office, though, I did pack my lunch every night before bed. I tend to get stuck in a rut when I pack my lunch though, packing the same things day in and day out.

What is your favorite portable lunch?

2 responses to “First Visit with My Nephew

  1. I’m a glutton for punishment when it comes to eating dairy too. It upsets the tum but not the taste buds 😉

    I’m so happy to hear that your nephew is doing well! My friend had twins a little over a month early and one of them was in the NICU but she’s a happy and healthy 1+ year old now.

  2. portable lunches can get boring, but some great go to’s are sandwiches, salads, wraps, soup, leftovers! really possibilities are endless! I hope you have a great day love!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

