POM Review and Sunday Yummies

Happy Sunday! (Or perhaps Not-So-Happy Sunday if you have to go back to work tomorrow…like me!)

As promised, here’s my long overdue POM review:

A few weeks ago (well I guess at this point it was actually a couple months ago!), Kristen from POM Wonderful sent me a box of these little beauties:

100% pure pomegranate juice

Now, I don’t typically like to drink my calories, unless it’s in the form of a protein shake. But after reading so much about POM on other blogs, I was eager to give this a try.

So I cracked one open and took a sip. It was slightly tart and slightly sweet, and reminded me a lot of cranberry juice. Very tasty! And I have to admit, one of my first thoughts was, “I could make a great cocktail with this!” Haha! 😀

I gave it to the hubby to try and he really enjoyed it. For about a week straight, POM replaced his morning OJ with his breakfast.

In addition to its great taste, POM Wonderful pomegranate juice also has some amazing health benefits. It’s extremely high in antioxidants! Read more about the health benefits here.

*******************************************************************

Onto the Sunday Yummies…

Just because I took a break from the blog due to my busy schedule, doesn’t mean I took a break from my healthy habits! Today’s eats are pretty typical of what I’ve been eating on a regular basis:

Breakfast – 1/3 cup of oat bran, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin, 1 tbs of ground flaxseed, raisins, and walnuts, alongside 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg scrambled

Lunch – Protein shake made with 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk, 2 tbs of Nutribiotic vanilla rice protein powder, 1 medium banana, and ice; and a chocolate brownie Z bar

Snacks – plain Chobani (mixed with cocoa powder and stevia, of course!) and some mushrooms and roasted garlic hummus that went undocumented

(Greek yogurt and I are currently “on” again, mostly because I have a TON of $1.00 off coupons! It’s inevitable that my tummy will end up hating me though, and then I’ll be completely dairy free again. :-()

Dinner – ground turkey fajita salads

I used frozen bell peppers for my fajita veggies tonight. Super convenient (no chopping necessary!) and super cheap! I’m on a tight budget these days so I’m buying more frozen veggies than ever. I spiced up my peppers and onions and my ground turkey meat with a combination of chili powder, cumin, paprika, and a dash of garlic salt. I topped the whole she-bang with some Pace Picante Sauce that I received in the mail a couple weeks ago, courtesy of Foodbuzz. Spicy stuff! Runny nose kind of spicy! 😉 And that was the Medium variety. I can only imagine what Hot is like!!

Fitness

After baby was all snuggled in her crib, it was time for mama to exercise! Tonight was my circuit training night. I alternate every other day with circuit training and Spinning (on my bike at home). I did 2 20-minute videos from Exercise TV. This is a new find for me! I love the variety. I can mix and match, and keep myself from getting bored.

*******************************************************************

Just for fun, here’s a recent picture of me and my baby girl!

Well, it’s 9:19…time for a shower and then it’s off to bed! I’ll be back soon with my baby food making how-to post!

3 responses to “POM Review and Sunday Yummies

  1. your girl is so precious! I just want to squeeze her little hands.
    POM is great, esp when cooking. I don’t like to drink it up straight, but I love cooking with it!

  2. Love the picture of you and your daughter, so precious!
    I need to try this POM juice sounds super good for you and delish!
    I didn’t know you could buy frozen bell peppers, would be more handy!

  3. Aw cute picture of you and your daughter!! POM makes a wonderful cocktail 🙂

    Runny nose spiciness sounds like the perfect level of spiciness to me!

Leave a Reply

