Baby Food Making 101

Hey bloggies! I’ve been thinking a little more about my blog since I revived it this past weekend and I think for 2010 I’m going to be a little more focused in my posts. Part of the reason I let my blogging fall by the wayside is that it got too tedious – too much detail about my every move and every meal.

Going forward, I’m going to try to have a specific topic in mind for each post, and then highlight some of my latest and greatest eats, as well as my exercise at the end.

Hope you enjoy the new concept!

******************************************************************

Ever since my daughter started eating solid foods, I’ve been making her baby food myself (with the exception of meats – I can’t get into pureeing chicken breasts!). I want to raise her to favor whole, natural foods over processed, “fake” foods.

I was not raised on the most nutritious foods (sorry mom!), so I always chose Pepsi over water, Snickers over fruit, and Pop Tarts over oatmeal. It was a struggle for me to change my eating habits. I want to make healthy eating natural for my little girl.

When I first started making baby food, I used all fresh produce. Now that I’m on a tighter budget, though, I’ve discovered that I can make baby food that is just as nutritious using frozen fruits and vegetables. The only thing I buy fresh now is apples.

Which brings me to my baby food making how-to!

Making applesauce for babies is no different than making regular applesauce. I simply peel, core, and slice 1 bag (about 3 lbs) of apples, toss them in a saucepan with about 1/4 cup of water, and cook over medium heat until soft.

When my daughter was a little younger, I used to puree her apples in my Magic Bullet. Now that she’s almost a year old, I just mash them.

Once mashed, I fill up ice cube trays with the applesauce and freeze it. It’s easy to store and easy to use! I simply pop a few cubes in the microwave for a minute and voila!

I do the same with frozen veggies, like peas, carrots, corn, squash, and broccoli.

butternut squash

My freezer is full of bags like this:

*******************************************************************

FOOD

I haven’t been great at photographing my food lately, but here are some of the highlights of my eats for the last couple of days:

banana and almond butter on a whole wheat sandwich thin with 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg, scrambled

 

1/2 cup of oatmeal, 1 medium banana, vanilla, cinnamon, 1 tbs ground flaxseed, raisins, and 1 tbs of drizzly PB

Work Lunch - protein shake, turkey and light mayo on a whole wheat sandwich thin, apple, Z Bar, Greek yogurt

FITNESS

Monday – I was due for a day off so I took it on Monday. It felt great to relax my sore muscles!

Tuesday – 45 minutes on my Spinning bike

*******************************************************************

As I mentioned above, I wasn’t exactly raised on healthy food. Our house was always stocked with Pepsi, Chips Ahoy cookies, chocolate ice cream, and more. What about you? What kind of foods were you raised on?

4 responses to “Baby Food Making 101

  1. I was raised on pretty unhealthy foods. Not chips and soda. But full fat cheeses, lots of meats and sausages, loads of white bread and very little veggies. I realized how unhealthy my diet was only about 2 years ago. I am now trying to inspire my mom and sister to change their diets as well. But old habits die hard.

  2. I wasn’t really raised on healthy foods either but I was so active in my sport that it was never really an issue. I loved Pop Tarts, french fries, pop, etc.

  3. I was raised too healthy which is why I developed an eating disorder because we were always too focused on eating healthy.
    It was a good and bad thing, but today I’m better for going through all of that and doing what I want now:)
    Great post, someday when I have a baby I will definetely make my own food too!

  4. so glad you are back mama!

    i LOVE that you make your own baby food! i was raised on a fairly healthy diet – we had our veggies and ate our sugary cereals too!

Leave a Reply

