Sesame Soy Ginger Tofu

Tonight I actually tried something different for dinner for a change! I tend to make the same things over and over again because it’s easy and I don’t have to think too much about it.

I picked up some Nasoya lite firm tofu at the grocery store yesterday – something I don’t usually buy, but it was on sale for $2. I’m a sucker for cheap, healthy foods!

I’ve never been fully satisfied with the different ways I’ve cooked tofu before. So I decided to try marinating it before baking it this time. I used another new item I picked up this weekend – sesame soy ginger vinaigrette from Trader Joe’s.

This dressing has a little more sugar per serving than I would typically go for (8g), but it sounded too yummy to pass up. And it was!! Mmmm!

I pressed most of the water out of my tofu block and sliced it into 10 thin slices. I marinated the slices in vinaigrette in the fridge for a couple hours. Then I baked the tofu at about 375 for 40 minutes.

To go with my tofu, I cooked up 1/2 a bag of frozen bell pepper strips (one of my new favorite bargain foods) and one sliced onion with some more of the vinaigrette. The result was a delicious, out-of-the-ordinary meal – and one that involved very little prep!

2 responses to “Sesame Soy Ginger Tofu

  1. Happy New Year! I have tried to bake tofu before and it turned out AWFUL! I like what you did, I feel inspired again to try tofu! I don’t eat a lot of meat and would like to have tofu as another option.

    Have a good day!

  2. i love that dressing! i got it when i was in cali. oh how i love TJs!

Leave a Reply

