Protein Pancakes!

I’ve seen numerous recipes for protein pancakes in the blog world, and I’ve been wanting to try them. I love pancakes, but rarely ever eat them. I don’t like the idea of eating pure carbs for breakfast. But throw some protein powder in there and I’m all for them!

I decided to make my first-ever batch of protein pancakes a couple days ago before work. Into a mixing bowl went the following:

  • 1/3 cup of Hodgson Mills Instabake Mix
  • 1/3 cup of soymilk
  • 1/2 cup of egg whites
  • 1 tbs of Nutribiotic vanilla rice protein powder
  • cinnamon

This resulted in some super thin batter. To thicken it up a bit, I added another tbs of protein powder and a couple tbs of oats. The result: a perfect pile of protein pancakes!

drizzled with sugar-free syrup

These were dense and chewy, with a very nice vanilla and cinnamon flavor. My batter yielded about 5 pancakes, all for about 300 calories. Sweet! You better believe I ate all 5 too! 🙂 I will definitely be making these again.

Have you ever experimented with adding protein powder to recipes?

One response to “Protein Pancakes!

  1. thanks for visiting me!! LOVE this recipe! anything protein and pancake=im there 🙂

Leave a Reply

