New-to-Me Goodies!

Yesterday, I did the usual Saturday shopping circuit – Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, and Stop ‘n’ Shop. Armed with a slew of coupons, I came home with a TON of new-to-me goodies that I’ll be reviewing throughout the week.

Before my shopping extravaganza, I started my day with an old favorite – almond butter, raisins, and banana on a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla. I warmed this in the micro for 30 seconds, and ate it alongside some eggs – 1/2 cup of egg whites + 1 whole egg.

This combo never lets me down!

Post-shop, I came home to dig into my new treats. First up, Voskos plain Greek yogurt. I had a $1 off coupon, so this was a bargain at just 99 cents for an 8 oz cup.

I promptly turned it into “chocolate mousse.”

Mixed with 2 packets of Purevia and 1 tbs of cocoa powder

My thoughts?? I loved this yogurt! It was so creamy and filling! The nutritional stats are outstanding, too – 140 calories, 9 g of carbs, and 24 g of protein. I especially love the short ingredient list – Grade A pasteurized skim milk, live and active cultures. I definitely recommend this yogurt. I would love to buy it again, but I’m afraid it’s a bit out of my budget at $1.99 per cup.

To go along with my yogurt at lunchtime, I tried some new-to-mew cereal – Kashi Go Lean. I had been buying Go Lean Crunch regularly but that stuff is like crack! I’ve got to break the habit. I don’t need 13 g of sugar in the morning.

I had just 1/2 a serving (1/2 cup) with a little bit of unsweetened soy milk.

This is definitely a keeper! I was just the right amount of sweet, with just 6 g of sugar. A one cup serving has just 140 calories, and packs 10 g of fiber and 13 g of protein. I’ll be interested to see if this keeps me full when I have it for breakfast.

After a brisk 40-minute walk with the hubby and baby girl, I came back inside and warmed up with yet another new-to-me item – Celestial Seasonings Black Cherry Berry tea.

I love fruit teas, and this one was no exception! It had a wonderful, natural cherry taste. It’s amazing if you take a little bite of dark chocolate and then take a sip…which I may or may not have done. 😉

Dinner was a piece of baked salmon and a sweet potato. Simple and delicious.

Once baby was put to bed and my dinner was sufficiently digested, I squeezed in a 45-minute workout – Biggest Loser Power Sculpt. It was good to change it up. I’ve been doing Last Chance Workout for several weeks.

I then settled in on the couch to watch Food, Inc. All I will say for now is…WOW. I’ll post a full review later in the week.

What a great day of new foods, fresh air, and exercise! I think my favorite new item of the day was definitely the Voskos.

What’s your favorite new-to-you item?

*******************************************************************

Don’t forget to check out OpenSky’s Train Like an Olympian promotion! Receive 15% off some great fitness gear.

2 responses to “New-to-Me Goodies!

  1. kashi go lean and voskos are two of my FAVORITE things ever. seriously, both are in my fridge/cupboard now! hmmm new to me item i love? well, every time i try a new kombucha flavor i love it 🙂 have a great week!

  2. Pingback: Don’t Forget… « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

