Food For Thought

A couple nights ago, I sat down to watch Food, Inc. I knew going into it that it was likely to change my eating habits, but I had no idea just how much…

This movie was truly eye-opening. We really don’t know or fully understand exactly what we’re eating. When we buy chicken breasts at the store, we’re buying chicken breast meat that has been genetically modified and enhanced. We’re buying chicken that has been “cleansed” in ammonia before it was packaged.

Can you even believe it?! Bathing chicken in ammonia to clean it?! I don’t know about you, but ammonia is a chemical that I clean my kitchen counters with…and I don’t make a habit of eating my cleaning chemicals.

Basically it’s safe to assume that unless your tofu, soy milk, or any other soy product specifically says it’s not genetically modified (GMO), it’s safe to assume that it is. About 90% of the products on our store shelves contain some form of GMO derivative.

Essentially this film made me want to move to a farm in the middle of nowhere and grow my own crops! But since that’s not possible, I will be making the following dietary changes:

  • I will eat mostly vegetarian. If you have any good vegetarian recipes, send them my way!
  • If I eat chicken, it will be organic, free range chicken.
  • Any fish I eat will be wild caught.
  • I will seek out non-GMO products.
  • Whenever possible, I will avoid products containing soybean oil.

Have you seen Food, Inc? If so, did it change the way you eat?

3 responses to “Food For Thought

  1. I lvoe Food Inc – such a powerful movie! I am vegetarian, 99% vegan and I always have tons of recipe and meal ideas!
    And organic products do not contain GMO – try to buy organic as much as possible!

  2. Yes sir ee’ madam. Hahah.
    I watched Food Inc. back in December and have been phasing out meat and any non-organic or locally-raised eggs and dairy ever since. I have now completely cut out all red meat, chicken, and pork, and will only eat wild-caught fish. I buy my eggs from my friend’s own family farm (when they are availible – they take time without hormones!) and will only buy dairy from co-op organic companies like Organic Valley or Stoneyfield Farms.
    The GMO soy was not really a new thing to me, but I do make absolutley sure to buy non-GMO and organic now. And yes, I avoid soybean oil whenever possible. Usually it’s only found in processed junk though so it’s easy to eat around.

    I think Food Inc. should be required watching.

  3. Pingback: Mediterranean Pasta Toss « Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

