Move Over Oats…

…there’s a new hot cereal in my life!

There’s nothing I love more than a big bowl of hot cereal in the morning. Usually I stick to oatmeal or oat bran, but recently I tried rolled spelt flakes.

Spelt is a relative of wheat that’s high in both fiber and protein. It’s also packed with a whole host of other nutrients, including vitamin B2.

I cooked 2 servings on the stove for me and the hubby:

  • 1 cup of spelt flakes
  • 1-1/2 mashed bananas
  • 1-1/2 cups of water
  • vanilla
  • cinnamon

I topped my bowl with some sliced banana, raisins, and a scoop of Naturally Nutty Vanilla Almond Butter.

I really enjoyed this cereal! It had a nice nutty flavor. It was much chewier than oats (maybe I didn’t cook it long enough??), but it made me slow down and savor it. It was definitely a hearty meal. I’ll be adding this to my breakfast rotation for sure…though probably just on the weekends, since it really has to be cooked on the stovetop. I’m usually a microwaved oats girl! Convenience rules.

Have ever tried spelt?

What’s your favorite hot cereal?

One response to “Move Over Oats…

  1. Hey there! You should try soaking those in liquid overnight in the fridge. It makes it so you can microwave them without worry the next morning. I do it with my old fashioned thick oats all the time.

Leave a Reply

