Ch-ch-ch-changes (and a winner!)

Hey everyone! Well, looks like I have some work to do building my readership back up… Not too many entries for the giveaway. Good news for those who entered though!

And the winner is…Leianna! Congrats! E-mail me your address and I’ll make sure your prize gets sent out ASAP: healthyfitmama@yahoo.com.

*******************************************************************

So, when I posted yesterday I forgot one of the most interesting parts of my day (second only to my 8-mile run!). I chopped my hair off! I had about 8 inches in total length taken off. I decided that with all the other changes I’ve been through recently (new job, etc.) it was time to make a change to my appearance. Plus, I was looking back at photos from high school and I realized I looked exactly the same – same long hair. So, without further ado, here’s the new hairdo:

Thoughts?

*******************************************************************

Food:

I only photographed one meal today – breakfast, of course. My favorite meal of the day! Today, I tried something new-to-me. Chobani on top of my oatmeal! I believe I first saw the idea of “yoatgurt” on Janetha’s blog.

  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 1 mashed banana
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • a few raisins
  • 1 Tbs of vanilla rice protein powder
  • 1 Tbs of PB mixed in
  • ~4 oz of vanilla Chobani Greek yogurt

It was good! Didn’t rock my world, but I did kind of like having something cold on top to counteract the hot oatmeal. It sure was filling too!

Let me just take a moment to profess my love for Chobani! I definitely think I should be their “spokesmommy.” The people in the grocery store look at me like I have a serious problem when I’m at the checkout every Saturday with a large tub of Chobani, several individual cups, and a pack of Chobani Champions for the little one. I’ve tried several Greek yogurts out there, and Chobani is by far my favorite! So thick and creamy, packed with protein, and oh so filling. I may or may not have eaten two servings today… 🙂

Chobani – If you ever need a mommy & daughter pair to hawk your yogurt, give me a call. You can pay me in yogurt!

Fitness:

My workout was pretty lame today. It was about 90 degrees today, so it was well over 90 in our shoebox of an apartment. I tried to get a workout in without over exerting myself. I did an at-home weight routine from the newest issue of Self.

The hotter-than-usual temps this summer have defintely affected my workouts. I’ve definitely not worked out as hard. It’s supposed to be back up in the 90s here all week, so I plan to do all my half marathon training in the morning before work. Getting up at 5 a.m. will be worth it so I can work out in bearable temperatures!

How do you adjust your workout schedule/routine in the heat?

2 responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes (and a winner!)

  1. i just wanted to say you didnt lose me as a reader! i just read in google reader now and dont really comment on blogs too often. but i would never leave ya!

  2. oh and i usually just work out in the gym year round. i am looking forward to fall runs, though!

Leave a Reply

