10 Things I Learned on My 10-Mile Run

Hey all! Sorry for my absence. I have been enjoying the holiday weekend, as I hope you all have, too!

Saturday morning, I ran 10 miles for the first time ever! Here are some things I learned along the way…

  1. I must be a morning person… because I got up at 4:45 a.m. on a Saturday raring to go! I used to be a morning person way back when, before there was baby. Maybe setting a goal and training to reach that goal is motivating me to get out of bed!
  2. It takes me about 2-3 miles to get warmed up. I wasn’t uncomfortable running, per se, but it really wasn’t until about 3 miles that I felt like I hit my stride.
  3. There are a lot of skunks in my neighborhood! Ok – not run-related, but damn! I must’ve passed a dead skunk or a skunky smell every 2 miles.
  4. My knees can only withstand about 7 miles. That’s about when they start hurting – the right one in particular. In fact, all of the joints on my right leg were killing me. Hip, knee, ankle…
  5. I’m much more “hardcore” than I thought! For better or worse, I pushed through the pain and completed my run!
  6. Having a time-goal in mind pushes me to run harder. I left the house with a goal of running 10 miles in 1:35:00 – a 9:30/mile pace. Once I passed the 1-hour mark, I was worried I wasn’t going to make my goal time. I wasn’t sure how far I had run (no Garmin here – yet), so I started to pick up the pace. Low and behold, I got back to my front door in 1:33:03 – roughly a 9:18/mile pace! Woohoo!
  7. The girl who couldn’t run a mile in the allotted 10 minutes in gym class (aka ME) is looooong gone! ‘Nuff said.
  8. I have made amazing progress since I decided to start running back in May. Just 4 short months ago, I was running a 12:30/mile pace. I have shaved 3+ minutes off that time. Go me!
  9. I can run 10 miles! Despite the fact that I prove to myself week in and week out that I can push myself farther and farther, I was still a bit doubtful that I could run 10 miles without stopping. But I did it! Watch out half marathon – I’m coming for you! 🙂
  10. Breakfast tastes even more delicious after burning nearly 1000 calories! When I got home, I refueled with this glorious mix of carbs, protein, and fat.

Proving time and time again that I am no photographer! :-/

  • 1/2 cup of old fashioned oats
  • 1 mashed ripe-beyond-belief banana
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • raisins
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk (+ 1/2 cup of water)
  • 1 Tbs ground flaxseed
  • 2 Tbs vanilla brown rice protein powder
  • 1 Tbs peanut butter (which I later mixed in)

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm!

*******************************************************************

I continue to learn more and more about myself the farther and farther I run.

What are some things you’ve learned about yourself through exercise?

2 responses to “10 Things I Learned on My 10-Mile Run

  1. Congrats running 10 miles is an amazing feeling. I ran about 4 yesterday and felt amazing.
    I’ve been having a lot of knee issues lately too and have been thinking about buying knee straps. I already ice and wear compression socks and that isn’t making that much of a difference.
    I love eating after a run because you enjoy it so much more and eat so much more!

  2. Pingback: Run Recap & a Giveaway! | Healthy Fit Mama

Leave a Reply

