Next Up: 12 Miles

Well, once again I let the week get away from me! It’s been busy at work, but busy in a good way. I’ve finally found a job that is both challenging and enjoyable. How refreshing! I just wish I lived a little closer. 100 miles roundtrip is tough! Maybe in the near future…

I’ve been battling some pretty serious knee soreness this week, so I took today completely off from exercising. I haven’t done that in quite a while. Even though I didn’t exercise today, I made sure I fueled up with some good quality carbs and protein. I’ve got a 12-mile run on the agenda for tomorrow. Eeeek! Hopefully my knee holds up. My training plan actually calls for 11 miles tomorrow and 12 miles next Saturday, but I’ll be out of town next Saturday and I’m not sure I’ll have time for that long of a run before my flight in the morning.

Per my usual MO, I only captured breakfast (my favorite meal of the day) on camera.

A deliciously perfect combination of carbs, protein, and fat:

  • 1/3 cup of oat bran
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1 Tbs of ground flaxseed
  • ~1Tbs of raisins
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • 2 Tbs vanilla rice protein powder
  • 1 Tbs of drizzly PB

So yummy, and so filling! This kept my hunger at bay for several hours.

*******************************************************************

Off to map out my 12-miler on MapMyRun.com. I’ll recap my run later in the weekend. Wish me luck!

Running question of the day: How many miles or months do you use your running shoes? How do you know when it’s time to replace them? I’m still new at this…

One response to “Next Up: 12 Miles

  1. I’ve been a runner for eight years and try to keep it at 7 or 8 months or around 500 miles! You can usually tell when they are reaching that point of no return, and it also depends on the brand. Good luck with the big 12 miler tomorrow, have you checked out knee sleeves, they work wonders!

Leave a Reply

