Running: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Hey all! I had planned to write up this post last night, but I ended up having a sick baby girl on my hands. 😦 So, here I am tonight!

Now, I’m certainly no expert on running. In fact, I’m still sort of a newbie. I’ve only been running since May. But based on my experience so far, I’ve discovered that running has it’s good, bad, and ugly points.

The Good

  • The sense of accomplishment. Throughout my half-marathon training so far, I have enjoyed the sense of accomplishment that comes from running farther and faster each week, and the sense of accomplishment of running 8, 9, 10 miles before anyone else wakes up.
  • Abs, abs, abs! Running has done more for my abs than all of the crunches I’ve done over the course of my lifetime, combined. Period.
  • Greater food enjoyment. I’ve taken more and more pleasure in eating since I started running. I enjoy every morsel that fuels and refuels me.

Protein oats topped with PB

The Bad

  • Running can be a big time committment. Especially when you’re training for a race. As my training progressed, I found myself getting up earlier and earlier each day to fit in my prescribed mileage.
  • Wear and tear on your body. Running can really take a toll on your joints and your muscles – something I’ve experienced firsthand. I’m currently nursing an IT band injury in the last week and a half of training before my race.

The Ugly

  • Chafing. Eeeeew. I discovered the first time that I ran 10 miles that chafing can be an issue. And I don’t just mean chafing from a sports bra or iPod armband. Chafing just from your own arms swinging back and forth for over an hour.
  • Black toenails. Double eeeeeew. Apparently this is not an uncommon thing. Unfortunately I have experienced this as well. I currently have a toenail that is getting ready to fall off.

All of things I mentioned above (the good, the bad, and the ugly) are things that I wasn’t expecting when I laced up my sneakers for my first run a few months ago. So has it all been worth it??? Heck yeah! Just the sense of accomplishment alone has made it all worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

