Pump(kin) up the Protein

There’s no question it’s fall in New England – it’s cool outside, the Patriots are in season, and Libby’s canned pumpkin is back on the grocery shelf! I picked up 2 cans on sale this weekend 2/$3.

On Sunday, I was inspired after seeing Janetha’s pumpkin protein pancakes, so I got to work in the kitchen to make some of my own. (Mine had WAY more than 3 ingredients, though!)

Into a bowl went:

  • heaping 1/4 cup of Instabake whole wheat pancake mix
  • 1/4 cup of vanilla brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 cup of egg whites
  • 1/2 cup of pumpkin
  • ~1/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 Tbs of plain non-fat yogurt
  • cinnamon

Janetha wasn’t kidding when she said these babies don’t bubble up like normal pancakes. I had a hard time flipping them over too. They started to fall apart on me. I probably could have skipped the yogurt in the mix because of all the pumpkin. Given the look of these in the pan, I was ready to write these off as an epic fail…

Topped with Smart Balance Light and Trader Joe's maple agave syrup blend

…until I tasted these! They were delicious, and the texture was amazingly similar to that of pumpkin pie. It was like eating dessert for breakfast! I wish I had had some pumpkin pie spice to add to the batter. They would have been even more amazing. Perhaps next time…

This might be my favorite new way to use pumpkin!

Do you like pumpkin? What’s your favorite way to eat it?

One response to “Pump(kin) up the Protein

  1. they look great! i am way too lazy for all those ingredients, haha. but you are right.. pumpkin pie for bfast! YUM!

Leave a comment