Slim Pickin’s

Not much left in the fridge or pantry since it’s already Thursday again. As much as I really wanted Subway, I decided it would be better for my wallet if I just scrounged around here for food.

Mid-morning (which for me is about 8:30 am!) I was craving something peanut buttery (kind of odd…I don’t really eat peanut butter all that often). So I decided to use my last (boo :-() La Tortilla Factory wrap. I spread it with peanut butter and folded it up to eat it. What a combo! The tortillas are just the tiniest bit sweet which tasted great with the peanut butter.

Blog 003

Blog 004

Blog 005

I followed it up with a peach applesauce.

Blog 006

I was hungry again around 11:30 (which is about right since I got up at 5). I looked in the fridge and the pantry for some sort of protein. The best I could do was a single-serve pouch of light tuna. It didn’t really sound good, but there weren’t a whole lot of alternatives. So I made a big salad of romaine lettuce, red onion, carrots, and tomatoes and threw the tuna on top with some red wine vinegar. I paired that with a few Mary’s Gone Crackers.

Blog 007

This definitely did NOT hit the spot today. I only ate about 2/3 of it and threw the rest out. (Wasteful, I know.)

I had planned to go for a walk right after my salad, but I got a little busy with work so I had to hold off for a while – which was just as well because the baby was a little fussy.

At about 1, I had another mess of Whole Soy & Co. vanilla yogurt, frozen berries, and Fiber One. Awww yeah! Sooo good!

Blog 008

After I gobbled that up, I grabbed another banana, loaded the baby in the Baby Bjorn, and headed out for a walk. This was definitely a multi-purpose walk: stress relief, physical activity, baby calming, and just general gorgeous weather enjoyment. 😀 I walked for 45 minutes and made sure to include lots of hills. Helloooo glutes!

I did some more work when I returned, and then got my Shred on with Jillian. I am loving this! Not so much when I’m actually doing it (I get sweaty and start panting!); but I love how I feel after I’ve completed it. Today was day 5. I plan to spend 5 more days on Level 1 before moving on to Level 2. Bring it on Jillian!

Late afternoon, I had to go out on a diaper run. While I was at the supermarket, I also picked up some apples (one of which I ate) and this little guy (on sale):

Blog 009

Jay Robb Chocolate-Flavored Egg White Protein Powder. I had never had it before but it was on sale for $1.99 per packet so I’d thought I’d try it, especially since I threw out a good portion of my lunchtime protein. When I got home, I threw it in the blender with 3/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk and some ice. I really enjoyed it. I would probably buy it again (if I could find it at a decent price).

Moving on to dinner… I made one of my favorites: Shrimp Scampi. Can’t go wrong with the scampi! 😉 I cooked up some frozen spinach and some Near East Olive Oil and Garlic couscous to go with it. Bingo! Hit the spot.

Blog 010

Blog 011

Despite all the eats, I am again a little low on the caloric intake. My calorie needs are huge right now. I track my intake using Self Diet Club. I primarily do it to make sure I’m eating enough but I have to admit seeing the numbers does make me a bit crazy sometimes…which consequently makes me eat even less sometimes. I know that’s not good. But like anyone else, I have my rational days and my irrational days.

What about you? Do you track your calories? Why or why not?

2 responses to “Slim Pickin’s

  1. That shrimp scampi looks delicious. I love shrimp! I used to track calories but like you said, it was hard to see the numbers and not go crazy. I eat about 6 times per day and I’ve just realized what works for me and what doesn’t and I go from there. I eat when I’m hungry and stop when I’m full. None of us are perfect, so there will be times that we indulge. Love your blog by the way!

Leave a comment