3 Weeks and Counting…

Well, it’s official – we are moving back to New England in 3 weeks!! There’s so much to be done… Thinking about all the little things I have to do kept me from sleeping soundly last night.

I was up around 6:15 this morning. I knew it was going to be a scorcher, but it was only in the mid-50s when I got up so I had my usual hot breakfast.

Oat bran with cinnamon, vanilla, banana, raisins, flaxseed, and walnuts with 1/2 cup of egg white + 1 whole egg

Oat bran with cinnamon, vanilla, banana, raisins, flaxseed, and walnuts with 1/2 cup of egg white + 1 whole egg

After I ate my breakfast, I checked my e-mail and was pleasantly surprised to find I had received an e-mail from a company regarding a job I applied to online over the weekend. I have a a phone interview tomorrow morning. Woohoo! 😀

Mid-morning, my stomach felt a little off, so I tried to calm it with a small piece of sprouted grain toast with a little Earth Balance spread.

A tiny end piece!

A tiny end piece!

Lunch was simple: turkey, mustard, and lettuce on a chewy Flat Out wrap.

blog 028

I took the baby up to see my hubby at work around noon. We went on a nice hour-long walk while we were there. It was hot, but I had a home-brewed iced coffee on my way.

blog 029

I stopped at the supermarket on my home to get a couple things. While I was there, I grabbed a packet of Jay Robb vanilla egg white protein powder. (They’ve been on sale for a while now.) When I got home, I made one of these:

Vanilla-Banana Protein Shake

Vanilla-Banana Protein Shake made with almond milk

I also grabbed a Cashew Cookie Larabar at the store. (These have also been on sale for quite a long time.) I’ve read so many rave reviews on other blogs about this flavor, but they’re always sold out at the supermarket. But today, it was there – one lone Cashew Cookie. It was meant to be!

blog 031

I’ve got to say…this was kind of a let down. It wasn’t bad, it just didn’t live up to the hype for me. I didn’t have nearly as much flavor as the Apple Pie or Banana Bread or the Chocolate Coconut Chew (I can’t decide which of these is my favorite!).

Somewhere in between chugging my protein shake and devouring my Larabar, I hopped on my Spinning bike for a 30 minute ride.

Before I get to my dinner description, I must confess that I also consumed a few handfuls of Fiber One cereal and some more raisins during various trips into the kitchen this afternoon! I’m looking forward to actually leaving the house for work sometime soon so I won’t do the all day snacking anymore!

I kept it simple for dinner – grilled chicken (on the Foreman) with green beans. I wanted to bake the chicken, but it was too hot. I didn’t want to turn the oven on!

blog 032

I decided I needed a little more flavor, so I ended up pouring a little low-sodium soy sauce over my veggies and chicken.

Dessert was light and summery – kiwi and strawberries.

blog 033

My interview is at 9 am tomorrow. Wish me luck! 🙂

**Check out the Amazing Grass giveaway over at Missy Maintains!

6 responses to “3 Weeks and Counting…

  1. good luck with the move! that is so exciting!

  2. Congrats on the interview!! I’ve got my fingers crossed for you 🙂

    Whereabouts in New England are you moving if you don’t mind me asking? I would love to live out there!!

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      We are moving to southern NH. My husband and I both grew up there. It’s not far from Boston.

  3. Good luck with your interview, on of these days I am going to have to try your breakfast oat bran, do you have a recipe?

    • Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

      Here’s what I use in my oat bran:

      1/2 cup of oat bran
      1 1/4 cups of water
      1/2 mashed banana
      splash of vanilla
      cinnamon
      2 tbs ground flaxseed (mixed in after cooking)

      I cook mine in the microwave for 3 minutes. I have to watch it and stop the micro to stir the oat bran a couple times so it doesn’t bubble over!

      On top:
      1/2 sliced banana
      ~1 tbs of raisins
      ~1 tbs of chopped walnuts

  4. Good luck with the move! And I’ll be sending you good vibes tomorrow morning! 🙂

Leave a comment